Disney Day 5- An Epic Cot (or Epcot)

My Dad has the TV super duper loud, so I'm trying to work on my violin miniature and I can't finish it because he's so loud I can't think. I think I'm going to go ask him when he's going to bed, because it's driving me nuts. I need to get up early tomorrow so that I can go see my Grandma, since her birthday is Wednesday (but I'm working eight to four that day). I have a doctor's appointment at 3:15 pm tomorrow, since my ear is still bothering me (it's been going on for a week now, I already went on Thursday, but I saw the stupid doctor there, and he gave me steroids, which did nothing).

Anyway, this is the second to last entry in my Disney vacation installment. This was the last full day that we were there, so in reality, it kind of is the last one, but not.

I have to say, I was dreading going to Epcot, since I had heard it wasn't as nice as the other parks. I totally agree with it, too. We went on Thursday, which is right around the time the influx of people who are spending their weekend at Disney arrive. So, it was crowded, and of course, there were the long lines just to get in the park. Not to mention it was a hot, sunny day, and I was still in my whole sunscreen routine.

When we got to Epcot, the first thing we did was get a FastPass for Test Track, since we had heard it was a good ride. Then, we decided to take a walk around the World Marketplace. We went into Mexico, which was really cool, and then we looked at China and Norway as well. We then had to head over the England to eat at the Rose and Crown pub, which would've been nicer if they'd let us eat inside instead of outside. Not to mention England is on the other side of the lake from Mexico, so it was a long walk (we walked around the lake, instead of turning around at Norway like we should've, we kept going forward).

So, we were worn out by the time we ate lunch, and since we were still outside as we ate, we were still hot. The lunch was okay, the usual boring fish and chips which you can get anywhere in RI just as good, or even better, than at that pub. R and I got into another tiff at lunch, since she started going on about how she's probably going to marry this guy she sees at Bible Study every week. It pissed me off, because it's not like she goes out with him, she only sees him at Bible Study and he only goes there to study the bible, not her. They talk and everything, but I don't think she talks to him on the phone, and I know they've never gone out outside of the bible study group.

Not to mention that her and my Dad were both talking down to me like I was five years old. That really pissed me off about the trip. The two of them were utterly helpless in finding their way around or understanding things, which meant I was basically a tour guide to a place I'd never been before. Yet, whenever we talked about stuff, they always made sure to remind me that I'm younger than both of them, as if that makes me less than equal. I basically said I felt kind of lame about Bunny and the things that happened with him. Then they both say "Oh, you shouldn't judge someone on looks.". If you guys saw all the guys that I go to school with, even if it was just in the music department, you would know Bunny isn't the cutest. He isn't ugly, but he also isn't that cute, he's really just a regular looking guy. I never really liked him for his looks anyway, I liked him because he stood out and was odd, which I could relate to. I thought that he would see me as his equal and that we'd be able to relate to each other. I was wrong, of course, but my feelings for him weren't based on his looks.

I was so upset by this that I got up before they did and went to a shop in England. I got some British candy bars, and ate one of them. I really love getting candy bars from other countries, the English ones are the best because they use real chocolate, not that Hershey's junk. Seriously, eat a Nestle Kit Kat and then eat a Hershey one, you'll quickly realize they're not the same. I love Kit Kats, but I love them a lot more when they're Nestle ones, since the chocolate is creamier and less gritty. I also bought a Beatles shirt, mostly because this guy I like at school likes them, so I kind of bought it to impress him (it is a nice shirt though).

After that, my Dad and I went on Test Track. It was funny, because I was talking to him about why I walked off at the restaurant, and this woman over heard me. I was saying how I don't want to get married until I get out of college, because I think R is really upset that she isn't married and is trying to get married because our friend Dancer did (who only did it because Hydrogen did). The woman was like "Oh that's good to hear." and was telling her daughter what I said. I laughed a bit and blushed, I haven't been an example for anyone in a long time, if ever. Of course, my Dad ruined my little moment by saying I'd been in college for six years (it's actually been five).

The Test Track ride was kind of fun, it's sponsored by GM, so we rode in a Chevy (the first time I've ridden in one in over two years). All I could think about was if my car would survive all those tests. I wish I could send it away to be beaten up but we all know it's because I want a Mini Cooper. The best part is when they crank the speed up at the end, though it's still not my favorite ride, it's nice.

We then went back to the World Showcase and visited Mexico again. I got a peasant top and we went on the Three Calaberros ride (I can't be bothered to spell it right). It was okay, though I wish we could've eaten in the Mexican restaurant, I like Mexican food better.

After that, we walked past the ones we walked back so we could take the boat over to China, since there is a boat that goes across the lake. We walked through the other countries and some of the were cool, some not. I don't know that any of us cared to see Morocco. I also began my epic quest to get some flags, but since they were $5 a piece, I only got four. The first country we looked into was Germany, but they only had stores and the Oktoberfest which I had no interest in. I got a flag because I drive a VW, but that's really the only reason. I still would've liked a cultural thing for Germany on the level of China's exhibit, I don't know much about Germany

We then went to Italy, where I got some gelato, which was delicious, especially on such a hot day. I got a flag there was well, and took some pictures of the statues they had. Still, no cultural stuff, which kind of sucked (though to be honest, I feel like I've taken enough Italian to make up for that). Then, we went back to England and my Dad got a beer, since I guess he wanted one.

We skipped America, since we're American and already knew that stuff. I was a bit excited about seeing Japan, which I also took pictures of. Still, the place is just one big store, which was kind of cool, but sad because I wanted to see a cultural exhibit on the level of China. The store is huge and I grabbed some stuff, like a fan (which I thought would help me cool off, but it didn't really), a Ichigo from Bleach plush (not the little ones, a big one, but it's with his first sword, not his second, which sucks). I also got a Haruhi Suzumiya wristband a Ponyo poster (which they were giving away) and a flag, of course.

We then went to France, where we saw this movie on France that made no real sense (it was basically pretty pictures of France with no real storyline or helpful narration). It was nice to cool off though and R was feeling better after that (I think she was having heat stroke). I got a French flag and then we walked over to Canada to watch that show. That was okay, but I find Canada kind of boring. The display there was nice, and I took a few pictures of it.

After all that, we were pretty tired, and decided not to stay for the fireworks, even though we heard they're nicer than the ones at the Magic Kingdom. We actually went back to the Magic Kingdom, though not before R and my Dad got lost getting out of Epcot (they couldn't find the golf ball and follow it, that's how clueless my Dad is). I was pretty mad at them about that, I called them twice and they still couldn't find me, I had to find them instead. I did take some boring pictures of the golf ball while I waited, but it's almost impossible to do without getting people in the shot.

We went back to the Magic Kingdom, but the Peter Pan ride I wanted to go on was closed. So, we went on Cinderella's Carousel and Snow White's Scary Ride, which were both kind of boring. R had a hard time getting on the Cinderella ride, and I couldn't really help her once I'd gotten on mine. Luckily, a guy helped her figure it out. Then, when it was over, she got off okay, but I couldn't because my horse ended on the highest point, so I had to get one leg over and jump off while holding onto the horse. I was worried I wouldn't be able to get off it before it started again, or that I'd have to ask for help. My Dad took some pictures of us on that, but he used the Kodak (I don't know why), which hates computers, so I don't know that anyone will ever see those photos. It does however, work with the dinky Kodak printer we had to buy for it.

After the rides, I went and got a snow globe of the castle that plays "A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes". I don't think it works right, since it didn't sound right when I used it the other day. Still, I liked it because I thought it was exclusive to the Magic Kingdom (we went there so I could get it). I even got the last one there, I felt so special. Until we got back to the hotel, and saw it in the gift shop.

The last night we went to bed kind of early. I actually knew I would sleep good because I hugged my Ichigo plush. I still have him in my bed, he sleeps with me at night, if I don't push him off the bed first (I toss around a lot in my sleep).

Anyway, speaking of sleep, it's time for me to go to bed. I should be able to write about the last day tomorrow, and about all the stuff that has gone on since then (which isn't much, considering me, but it feels like a lot). Bye!-*Racecar*

<< Monday, Aug. 31, 2009@11:06 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew