Disney Day 4- I DO Wanna Miss A Thing

I'm sure you saw that title coming from a mile away, but whatever. If you haven't noticed, I've updated twice again, so if you missed the one before this one, I recommend you read it. Anyway, this is from the fourth day of Disney, meaning August 19th.

This was the roughest day at Disney, at least towards the end, but it started out quite nice. We went back to the Animal Kingdom and got a FastPass for the Khali River Rapids. While waiting for that, we went to see the Festival of the Lion King. That was okay, but I had to take a bunch of pictures for R, so I didn't really get to watch it as much as I wanted to. I don't really like the stage shows, to be honest, not even the Little Mermaid one or the Beauty and the Beast one. They just never compare to the movies, so I didn't really like the Lion King one any better than the movie, since it doesn't add anything new to it, but rather, takes things away that were good.

We then went on the River Rapids, which was a fun ride, though we did get really wet. Not long after that, we said goodbye to the Animal Kingdom, which was probably my favorite part of Disney. We went back to Hollywood, and I immediately got in line for the Rock and Roller Coaster with my Dad, since the FastPasses for it were gone. R had to wait because she didn't want to go on the ride. I felt bad for her because she ended up waiting an hour and a half for us.

The line was really long, and they played all Aerosmith songs, which was actually not so bad (They didn't play "I Don't Wanna Miss a Thing", thank goodness). The best part was when we went inside, they had all kinds of recording studio stuff to look at, but by then, the line was actually moving, so we didn't get to see it. We did get to see the rock star posters that they have in the hall there. My Dad took pictures of them, because it was a shock. They had a poster of Queen, with a poster of Miley Freaking Cyrus next to it. Honestly, I don't know what she had to do with Queen, but I don't like the idea of her being considered on their level. I can't imagine too many people would disagree with me on that.

Anyway, you wait around for a while, and then you're put in this room where Aerosmith (I hate typing their name, seriously) are recording a new song, and they have to go to a show. So, they see the audience (aka- everyone standing in the room waiting for the ride) and give them VIP passes. Then, you go in line and you wait to get into this limo roller coaster. They all play different Aerosmith songs, too. One plays "Walk This Way", which is the one that was before us. I wish I had gotten in that one, since that's one of the two Aerosmith songs I like (that and "Jaded", which I'm contemplating buying on iTunes, but I hate the cover for that album it's on). We ended up on one that played some song I didn't know.

Anyway, you get into the limo and it stops you. Then, all of the sudden, you shoot forward at 60 mph, it happens really quick, so it's this huge rush. You then go into the dark, and there are some blacklights and neon signs to see. It's kind of fun, but it's probably really lame if you can see the track. It's also not a long ride for the wait time, to be honest.

My Dad got a picture of us on that as well, which was funny, because he had that look on his face like going that fast happens everyday to him. I also got a pencil that was shaped like a treble clef (I thought I should, since I'm a guitar player and all). We then met up with R, who was kind of tired of waiting around and ate at this nearby stand, where I had a very good taco salad.

We then went onto the Star Tours ride, which is a Star Wars flight simulator. That's kind of fun, and it's cool to wait for the ride as well, since there's a talking robot there, who was actually adorable (I think I'm one of the few people who would find a talking robot adorable). After that, we went to see Voyage of the Little Mermaid and then the Beauty and the Beast show. I didn't really like either of them, especially the Little Mermaid, since it messes with the plot of the film a bit. They rerecorded "Poor Unfortunate Souls" for it, too, which is dumb, because the person playing Ursula doesn't sing, so it sounds the same as the movie, but with different words (which don't work as well).

Even Beauty and the Beast was changed. The famous scene where Belle dances in the yellow dress with the Beast ends up at the very end of the show. Her dress is this hideous gold thing instead of yellow, though the design is the same. The rest of it was good, and I liked it better than the Little Mermaid one, but why did they have to change the best part of the whole movie? Not to mention they began "Beauty and the Beast" with the movie version, then switched to a live version, which I thought was jarring. Seriously, the way it's sung in the movie is perfect to me, since it's sweet and subtle. Heck, I've even cried hearing that song sometimes and not just while watching the movie (I have the soundtrack on my iPod).

We then left so we could go back to the Magic Kingdom, because I wanted go on Splash Mountain. We walked through Cinderella's Castle, since it was open (I took a few pictures, but it's very hard to get all of the scenes because people love to pose of pictures there and generally hang about). I noticed all the rides that were near there as well, including this cool looking Peter Pan one that I didn't get to go on because we didn't have time that day, and it was closed when we went back.

My Dad and I ended up waiting in line for the Splash Mountain ride, since the FastPasses had run out on it. By this time, it was about seven thirty, so there were few people who wanted to go on it, anyway. This being Florida, it had also just recently rained, so no one was really looking to get wet. We probably waited about forty minutes for it. My Dad didn't want to get wet again, since he had just dried off not long ago from the River Rapids and we were going to a dinner reservation.

We ended up in the front for the ride, which meant we got very wet. Still, it was so awesome! It was by far my favorite ride, and I wish I had worn my glasses for it, but I got paranoid again about losing them, so R had them. You see all these animals singing, and some are really happy (some are also drunk, which was hilarious to me) and others warn you of danger to come. You keep thinking there is going to be a huge drop after every group of animals, but it ends up being false a few times. Until you see poor Brer Rabbit tied up and the crows are laughing at him. The drop is huge, you can see the castle and everything from it (I think it's the biggest drop of any Disney ride). At the end, you also get to see how Brer Rabbit got out of it, which was cool, because I wondered if he ended up okay. In fact, it was what I was thinking of when we hit the drop.

My Dad got a picture of that as well, though I don't remember what I look like in it. I'm sure he's calm, as always. By then though, the light parade was about to start since it was almost eight thirty. So, we had to book it, since we had reservations at the Maya Grill for nine thirty. It's at the Coronado Springs Resort if you're wondering.

We got on the bus and made it to the resort with fifteen minutes to spare. By this time, we were all pretty tired and not that hungry because of a late lunch. We also knew that we needed to go to bed soon because we wanted to go to Epcot in the morning.

R was really cranky, too, and didn't really want to eat. She even ate a vegetarian dish, which was annoying, because she went into this whole thing about how she wants to be a vegetarian now. I thought it was nice, until she ordered a cheeseburger the next day. That was the one thing I noticed about Disney, there was always a vegetarian option, so she could've avoided meat everywhere, but she didn't bother. I had some pork chops, which were good, and my Dad had pasta. My Dad got Creme Brulee for dessert, I jokingly told R it reminded me of a show I watch, and she assumed it was anime, which pissed me off. It's actually the name of Les McQueen's band in the League of Gentlemen. I had churros and ice cream, which was also good.

By the time we were done eating, it was eleven, and R was really irritated, while Dad and I were both tired. I took some pictures of the resort, mostly the fountain in the foyer and a lit up bridge. We had to take the bus to Downtown Disney to get back to the Sports Resort where we were staying, since there is no direct line from Coronado Springs to the Sports hotel. It took forever for the Sports bus to pick us up at Downtown Disney and we didn't get into bed until twelve thirty. I don't think I slept too well that night, either, since my Dad was back to his old snoring tricks.

So, we have almost come to the end of my Disney adventure. I just have to write about Epcot and the journey home (thought that one should be short). I'm going try and finish it before work tomorrow, but it might end up being after. Bye!*Racecar*

<< Monday, Aug. 31, 2009@1:28 a.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew