Racecar Horlas rocks!

I haven't done much since I lasted updated. School was so messy on Wednesday because guess what? It snowed again. It wasn't as bad, but the roads were kind of crappy and half plowed from Sunday, so they were harder to drive on and it took longer to get everywhere. I went to all my classes, even though most of them were only half filled and I'm not sure why. Nothing very important happened, though the kids in Music Theory played with the piano in the room and pretended to play it though it was one of those ones where it plays by itself. It had an awful lot of patriotic songs on it, which is kind of werid, because usually they have some stupid songs from current movies. Like my keyboard has that "Hero" song from the first Spider Man movie, even though the song itself sucks (I'm sorry if anyone likes it and I've offended you).

The Music Theory teacher collected our homework and she noticed that I've been writing out the various scales (all of the Major ones except C# and Cb) and the chords that are in them. She had everyone shout "Racecar Horlas rocks!", which was embarassing. I think she thinks I'm really smart now because she gave me the sheet on triads but said she knew I wouldn't need it. She also said I rocked again when Mr. Horlas (a kid who has the same last name as me, but isn't related to me and no I'm not married) answered one of her questions and she said "Mr. Horlas, not Ms. Horlas, who rocks.". I like that she thinks I'm smart and I feel all cool now, but yet it was embarassing at the same time, has anyone ever felt that way?

Is it just me or does that guy in My Chemical Romance sing really weird? The radio is playing that "I'm Not Okay" song and his voice just songs weird and wrong at the same time. I kind of like the song, for some weird reason, but yet his voice bothers me so much I could never buy any of their albums. I like to listen to cds with stuff all together. I also wish the radio station would stop playing Stone Temple Pilots, because I don't know anyone who listens to them and it's always the same song, too. If anyone is wondering what radio station I'm talking about, it's Brown University's radio station. I read online that college radio is becoming more like mainstream rock radio and it's true, which bums me out. I wish I lived in the days of college rock when it was really stuff that was indie and underground and not stuff that is or was on MTV or MTV2 in the hour a day when they play rock videos. The only good station around here is 98.5 (it's a Boston station) because at least they play eighties stuff, too, which I don't think most radio stations would do around now.

Sorry about that rant. Do college stations around your area do that, too? The other colleges around here (except for CCRI, grrr) have radio stations, but their signals are so weak that you can't get them where I live. Brown's is so strong you can get it out in eastern Connecticut.

I handed in my English essay but I won't know how it went over until Monday. I think my English teacher is weird because he's funny and he kind of goes off on tangents often. It's like Guy 4 if he was fat and taught English. He spent most of the time telling us jokes and stuff instead of actually teaching us stuff and ended up rushing it at the end of class today. He didn't bother to teach yesterday because no one was there. I wish the other teachers had done that, though there usually is no one in my Piano class. My Piano teacher likes to go on about her days at Yale and all the different piano players she knows, like one who plays in Vegas and another who writes arrangements for big pop stars. She actually is interesting, but only when she is not teaching, then she is very repetitive and she excepts us to know everything about piano, like the five finger pattern (root, whole, whole, half, whole), in less than one class, since we learned it last class and she expects us to know it by the end of that class. I have been practicing every night but I don't think she notices.

I went with my Dad to Circuit City and Best Buy yesterday and got the new Bright Eyes cds, because they were only eight dollars and I know they'll be ten next week. Could all the bands I like please stop making albums for a few months? Or just not release any? I have so much listening to do and not much time to listen to it in. I'm just going to get cds by bands I already like that come out with new ones or ones I don't have by bands I like. I want to really listen to my jazz cds and some other ones. I'm trying to listen to Sondre Lerche right now, because I haven't since I first bought it and I didn't even get all the way through it, only halfway. It sounds like sixties pop, but it's nice and if you don't know who he is it's because he's not popular here, he's Norwegian. I hate liking bands and people from other countries because they are usually more popular in their home country than they are here. It seems like rock is almost dead in this country except for the pop punk bands and emo bands, though there aren't any emo bands because they all hate the word emo and refuse to be called that. I like some of it but not all of it because some of the bands sound the same as other ones.

Man, I keep going on these musical rants, I'm sorry about that. I hope it isn't too boring or anything. I went to my classes today and it wasn't nearly as bad as yesterday, it was cold out but it wasn't bad driving. My car always seems to be nice and warm when it's cold, it's probably because it's so dark. I think this is the first time I've been happy that I picked a dark colored car. It gets hot in the summer but at least it is decently warm in the winter. My classes all want as planned except for Jazz Ensemble which I didn't have because the instructor and his family are all sick. I hope we have it next week, though a good amount of classes haven't been meeting lately, so I don't think that it's just Jazz Ensemble, the Chamber Ensemble hasn't met yet, either.

I'll write more tomorrow. I have to go to bed. I think I'm going to not wrap my pinky tonight, because it looks close to healed and it seems like if I let my body heal on it's own a bit it usually will. That's what happened with my middle finger on my left hand when I broke it. I left it in the cast for two months and then took it out. It hurt but it eventually healed on it's own and hasn't bothered me in two years or more. I don't think my finger will take that long though, it's only got some wrinkles on it. I'll add to squareone over the weekend, too, because I finally got a copy of "Somewhere Only We Know" by Keane on my Apple, so I can listen to it while I type the entry, which is, if you read squareone at all, what I like to do. Bye!
*Racecar*

<< Thursday, Jan. 27, 2005@9:26 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew