I want to be a stupid spoiled whore when I grow up!

Today had to be one of the most irritating days I have had in a while. Last night, before I went to bed, I tried to set my trusty old stereo (it's only four years old, actually) to wake me up at seven so I could take a bath before the water gets shut off (which it didn't because they STILL haven't done the connecting of the lines and they need to do it by the end of the week because there's a elementary school on my street and they go back next Monday, if the water is shut off on my road, it will shut off their water). Anyway, I hit the button to set the timer and it wouldn't go. I held it down and nothing. I tried the other buttons on the stereo and nothing happened, so I unplugged it and then plugged it in again and everything was fine. I set the timer and went to bed.

I woke up at six this morning for some reason and decided to shave then. I wasn't sure if the stereo's buttons would work when the timer went off, so I stayed up to see, and the buttons still didn't work. I unplugged it and plugged it back in again and decided to leave it on Tape so it would be on and see if the buttons still worked when I got back up. I told my Dad what happened and he thought it was an electrical short, which probably couldn't be fixed, which is what I thought.

We went to CCRI and got things straightened out, so I'll be getting financial aid after all, it turns out we used the 2002 tax report for the FAFSA (which I get to refile soon! Yay!) and so they had my Mom's Social Security income on there, which was eight thousand dollars, so they thought we had about $30,000 a year instead of the $21,000 we really have. We did have that much in 2002, but not in 2003, yet my Dad hadn't filed the taxes yet because it was only January when I did the FAFSA (they tell you to do it right away so you can send it to the schools you want to go to and they can give you a financial aid package before you decide on where to go, which is what I did). We fixed that and everything is okay now and we'll have enough money to pay the mortgage and stuff because we won't have to pay for school (we're getting refunded for the money we already spent on my first two semesters).

Then I went to Kohl's and returned the crap my Aunt's sister bought me and I got a store credit which sucks. I guess I can buy a bunch of underwear, because that's the only stuff I would buy there. They had some decent sweaters and their pajamas aren't bad, and I could use some, since my nightgowns date back to middle school. So, I guess it's not so bad.

I went to Sears to look at stereos and then I went to Best Buy because I wanted a shelf system with a timer, which is what my old one was/is. I found a Phillips which holds five cds instead of three (like my old one does) and it takes up less space. The sound is the same because the old stereo is also a Phillips (as was the boombox I had before that, notice a pattern?). Anyways, I told my Dad that was the one I wanted and we got that, the TV on the Radio cd and the Anchorman DVD, which we tried to watch tonight, but couldn't. The thing I worry about with this new one is that my other two Phillips players had problems with the electrical wiring after a few years. My boombox no longer plays cds beceause the switch to change to cd mode shorted out. I worry the same thing will happen to this new one.

I got home and when I played clarinet I shut the stereo off so I could look at the time and to see if it wouldn't work after being off for a while (it worked after I left it on Tape). I tried to turn it on a few hours ago and it worked, though I haven't tried it since. I'm kind of worried it will work again like it did before because I told my Dad and he seemed mad about it. I'm not sure if I should keep the new one or if there is something really wrong with my old one. What do you think?

I'm also irritated because I bought the Ash cd "Meltdown" a few weeks ago, right? Well, guess what? After being out in the UK for a year (about) it's coming out in the US in March (I forget what day). I hate that because I just spent fifteen dollars getting it and the US version is going to have extra tracks and if they're anything like the one on "Free All Angels" they'll be more than worth it. The only good thing is no one around here knows who they are (they sound kind of like Weezer, but from Ireland, which is why none of their cds have ever come out in time) so their cds are really cheap, it'll probably be only seven or eight dollars when it comes out. It just sucks to know that it's going to come out so soon after I bought it, you know what I mean?

I'm going to get ready to go to bed now. I just needed to vent a bit because it's just frustrating to have to spend money on something I don't really want but need. To buy a cd only to have it come out (or be reissued only MONTHS afer it came out, that always gets me mad) months after I buy it and have it be cheaper with more tracks. The only good thing is that they'll go on tour and since they're not popular here, they might do another free concert for the Brown University radio station in Providence. That would be just great, I don't know if they'll do it in other parts of the country, but if they do, you should go (I mean if it's free and nearby) because they're a good band.

I have to go to the therapist tomorrow and try to help Dad get the DVD player to work. We can't find the manual or the remote and every time we try to watch a movie it always picks another DVD (it's a six DVD changer with a carousel that loves to try and take my hands off). We wanted to watch Anchorman and it picked Finding Nemo (at least I know where that went). I think my Dad should have researched the DVD players out there (it's got speakers and stuff, but none of them all work at the same time). I really think he should've gone with a Sony instead of a Kenwood, or a Panasonic, a brand that I know (I like the familiar). Sorry to have bored everyone to sleep. Bye!
*Racecar*
P.S.-The title is a joke, I was watching South Park, the one where Paris Hilton comes to town and all the girls want to be a stupid spoiled whore like her.

<< Wednesday, Dec. 29, 2004@11:04 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew