Disney Day 2- The Not So Magic Kingdom

We woke up around eight on Monday morning, which is the first time in ages I've woken up that early unintentionally (and actually stayed awake). My Dad got up and out of the room before we did. I took a shower, and then read some books (I brought a ton with me) while Renesmee (R in all future references) took her shower. We went down to eat and it was packed, though we got through it kind of quick. The breakfast wasn't great, but it was okay. Then I went back to my room to put on sunscreen, which was the spray on kind that made me look and feel like a greased pig all day (though I didn't get sunburned at all-go me).

We now knew which bus to take for the Magic Kingdom, so that's where we headed off to. I was excited, because I thought it would be fun, but I have to say, I think the Magic Kingdom is only nice if you're a kid (or act like one, like R did/does).

The minute we got there, a parade had just started on Main Street, which made the area hard to get through. Then, there was the show at the castle, which was kind of cute. We walked over to Tomorrowland, missing the area behind the castle, since we couldn't go through the castle due to the show. I went on the Space Orbiter (I think that's what it's called) ride, which R and my Dad didn't want to go on. Instead, they went on the Carousel of Progress (I get bored typing that name). The ride I went on was okay, but not really worth the wait (most of the rides at Disney World fit that description). I got back with them after searching for a while, which was harder than usual since I didn't have my glasses on.

We went on the Teacups together, which would've been fun if it wasn't so short. We walked by the car ride, which I wanted to go on, but didn't get the chance. Then we headed over to Frontierland, which is probably the best part of the Magic Kingdom. We didn't get the Frontierland by walking, but rather, by taking the train. It was a fun ride, since it was cool and not overly crowded. My Dad and I got fast passes for the Mountain Train Roller Coaster, which we rode after lunch, though it was a real waste of time. We then went to the Hall of Presidents (this was before lunch) and that was where R and I had our first argument before the show.

I think those of you who read this on a regular basis know that I love to complain. I was complaining about how isolated being in Disney World feels (few news channels, no internet), and R told me that if I didn't like it, we should go home. She also bitched that I was determined not to have fun and that I didn't like Disney stuff. I started crying during the presentation, but I tried to control myself and got it together by the end.

We then went to eat at the Liberty Tree, which was good. After that, we went on a boat ride which was nearby. It was all about Tom Sawyer and his island, which we didn't get to visit, but it looked very fun. After that, we went on the coaster and then walked around some more. My Dad wanted to go on the Pirates of the Caribbean ride, which was a fun ride and nice and cool. After that, we went on the Swiss Family Robinson tree house, which was pretty cool, though R had a hard time walking through it. We also looked around in some shops and went into the Enchanted Tiki Room, which was pretty boring.

We went back to our hotel after that, since we were all getting tired. We then went back to the Magic Kingdom for the fireworks show, which is called Wishes. We did some shopping first, which was a bad idea, since we got out of the shops at eight thirty, which was when the parade started. The parade was kind of silly anyway, but we had nowhere to stand for it, so we ended up near the tables of the ice cream shop.

We moved over to a nearby bridge for the fireworks show, where R and I had yet another fight. Since she is visually impaired, I was helping her get around by guiding her. Whenever there were stairs or something, I would tell her. Yet, she doesn't trust me on those things, even though I've helped her countless times and we've known each other for two years. She's paranoid and kept asking me if there were any stairs, even though we weren't even moving. I yelled at her "Can't you see that there aren't stairs?" and she said "No, I can't and that's the problem!". I got really mad at her because I'd been helping her for two days now and the heat was probably getting to me, too (not to mention the large crowds). I walked off and left her with my Dad, to call my Grandma.

I told her how I felt like I was watching over two children instead of on vacation. She made me feel better by making me laugh like she always does, since she always has something crazy going on. I walked by over to Dad and after a few minutes, the fireworks show came on. It was cute and nice to see, I even got a few pictures of it, though I don't remember if they came out right or not.

When it ended, we went to the buses, which is where everyone else was going as well. Not to mention most people stayed in our hotel because it is the cheapest. We ended up getting in around eleven thirty, even though the fireworks ended up at 10:20. We went to sleep around midnight and we had a better night's sleep than the first night, probably because we had settled in a bit. The rough real first day was finally over.

I'll write the next days as soon as I can, though it takes forever (it's as if I'm writing a real story...), so I might not do it today. Enjoy!-*Racecar*

<< Tuesday, Aug. 25, 2009@4:59 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew