The Rock n' Roll Lifestyle

This entry is going to be short, because Carbon's babysitting and I want to go over there, but I need to practice guitar. These past two days have been especially awesome though, and I really wanted to write in this diary about it.

Dancer came over around eleven in the morning, and we went to her bank to cash her check. I love Dancer's bank, they always have food there, that day they had these awesome cookiese that tasted like homemade. Then, we got salads at McDonald's and Dancer nearly had a run in with a truck because she was in the wrong lane. It was kind of scary, but it was nice to know that even an experienced driver makes mistakes.

I went with Carbon to get her pictures taken, but I was only there for a minute. It was fun though, and then Dancer and I came back to my house. We left for the concert, but we got lost a bunch of times because we hadn't been there in a while.

When we finally got there, we nearly hit this kid who was standing in front of the parking space. I encouraged my Dad to run him down, but my Dad just isn't the violent type! Though, I only did it jokingly. Everyone and anyone was at Lollapalooza (that's what it was, though I felt like a weirdo for saying I went). There were lots of hot guys, the losers who like to hit on me, people who were obviously high, people who were over the hill and didn't realize it yet and so on. It seemed like every clique was there. If I can scan the articles from the paper on the concert (one of the few times when the paper wrote about a concert I went to!), you'll read about what I mean. It should be up sometime tomorrow.

We stuck to the main stage mostly. We saw The Donnas, who my Dad and Dancer liked, but I didn't. When their set was done, I had this aching pain in my lower stomach, like someone stuck a knife there. It ended after we walked around, got a soggy Ben & Jerry's One Sweet Whirled bar, that melted in Dancer and I's hands and sat back down. We saw Jurassic 5, who were this awesome hip hop group, that didn't swear much or anything. During their set, I began to feel better, and some cute guys sat near me. The cutest one wore a blue shirt, though he was really tan, I had my eye on him most of the night.

When Queens of the Stone Age came on (we walked around before that, and found a large group of people smoking weed), my Dad came back (he hates hip hop). Their set was really good, and they played some awesome songs, including "No One Knows" at they end, which they had "never played before" though you knew they were joking, it's probably their biggest hit. I heard that song at a school dance, it must be popular! We got up again for Incubus, to get our dinner, but Dancer and I came back in time to see their first few songs, which were really good. Yet, they played a ton of new ones, which kind of sucked because I couldn't sing along to them, since I didn't know them. My Dad came, and I ate my nachos as did Dancer. I kept having to stand up though, because so many people were smoking pot, and it bothered my lungs! As my Dad can attest from his days in the army, pot smoke, unlike cigarette smoke, sinks. They had booths there with "Chronic Candy" which is supposed to taste like pot. I just knew Hydrogen would fit in there! :) Man, she reads this, and I'm dead! Though she left for Chicago yesterday.

The best part of the night was when Audioslave came on. I told my Dad they were the best band, though I honestly wasn't sure of that, I knew I would love them. I know their album like the back of my hand, so even the non-singles were sing alongs for me. We waited for them in our seats, because I wouldn't budge for all the world. The cute guys came back just as they started, and they were awesome, just like I thought (the band I mean)! They played some of my favorite songs off the album, like "Set it Off" and "I am the Highway" (I think that's the title). They played their singles, too, and they played "Cochise" last, which was great. The whole time, I stood up to see them, though they had tvs where we were sitting that showed them pretty well, I really wanted to see them good. The cute guy was standing too, and he would look at me every now and then. Though nothing happened, I was honestly smiling the whole time Audioslave played.

After they played, Dancer and I took a walk, and my Dad later came with us. I got another shirt (besides my Lollapalooza one) that says "Did you eat a bowl of stupid for breakfast?", which is something Carbon titled one of her diary entries (hers is on teenopendiary.com). Then, we saw Jane's Addiction, but they weren't very good. The lead singer was wearing this skintight suit and dancing around all these half naked girls. Needless to say, we left right away. On the way out, they handed out shampoo. I can now say I have enough to wash my hair for the rest of my life.

It was awesome and on the way home we talked about it. My Dad like Audioslave, he said they reminded him of Bruce Springsteen and the E Street band, and my Dad didn't know I liked Bruce Springsteen, though I do. We got lost again on the way home, but we found our way back.

Today, I got up early and helped with the Paine House event, celebrating it's 50th Anniversary. Carbon and I blew up balloons and sold candy, and Carbon's dad got one, breathed in the helium and asked for a hot dog in a funny voice. He's so funny, sometimes I wish my dad was like that, but he's just a dry witted history buff. It was fun, and my Dad liked it too, though he knows John Deere, which is sad! We laughed when we saw them talking. Now, I have to play guitar and get ready to go see Carbon. I'll write more tomorrow. Though, I did read Meghan's entry to me, and I thought it was the nicest thing I'd ever read online. Thank you very much Meghan, I feel the same way. Bye!

*Racecar*

<< Saturday, Jul. 26, 2003@7:33 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew