I'm just a duck, with no powers of my own, but with your love, I can transform!

There's no better way to start an entry than with one of my favorite Princess Tutu quotes from one of my favorite episodes. In fact, I think it is my favorite, and if any of you ever watch, you'll see why. It just seems like everything is so happy, but it kind of goes downhill after that, though it becomes happier at the end.

Anyway, I've had Princess Tutu on the brain lately. My friend Mrs. Black came down to RI for the weekend and brought one of her friends with her, I'm going to call her Pique. Anyway, we met at the Cracker Barrel, which is right across the street from where I work. I had just gotten out of work, and it was a long day, not to mention I had worked the night before and not gotten much sleep. So, I was really tired and kind of grumpy.

It was fun though, we ate lunch pretty quick, then went and got some candy in the store part. It was funny, they excitedly told me about how they had candy ducks in the store. "You should buy one! If you eat it, you could be a cannibal." (They call me Duck, or Miss Duck, after the main character in PT). So, I bought two of them, one to eat right away, and one to eat later (which is the one they took a picture of me eating, I'll have to put it up on my Photobucket when I get the chance). I also got one of those sugary eggs, candy buttons and a grape lollipop. I ate one of the ducks and half of the sugary egg when we got to my house.

I had to go home to do laundry, so we watched some Sgt. Frog and some Princess Tutu because Pique hadn't seen the first episode completely. The show is on YouTube, but it's in many pieces and the dub is kind of hard to find. I actually have watched it on YT, but only in Italian (I don't know why, but I think it works well in Italian, though I like the English the best).

After that, we went down to URI, since Fakir's band was playing a concert that night and I wanted to see them. It's the first time they've had a show where I knew where it was, had the night off and had people to go with me. I'm seriously considering dragging Nad to one of their shows sometime, I don't know if he'll like them though.

We got there early and stood around and talked. It was in the Catholic Center, so they were worried it would be Christian music and that I was trying to convert them. We saw the first band soon after, and they were okay. They were called Out of the Blue and they're this kind of pop punk band, which I guess Pique didn't like. In true musician fashion, the show started a half hour late, and they finished their set around 8. I noticed that L, who is also in the band, was there. I went over to say hi to her, which was nice. She's really cool, she's actually Fakir's friend that I mentioned before, the one who I think is perfect for him, but they're not going out.

We hung around a while more, talking about all kinds of things. Then, Mrs. Black's Mom texted her, telling her she needed her home right away. We went into the bathroom to talk (it was the only quiet place). On the way, I saw Bunny enter the Center, I honestly thought he wouldn't come, because on the FB page for the event, he said he wouldn't. It kind of made things awkward, which I'll go into later.

We walked by him on the way to the bathroom. It took a while, but things were sorted out. Apparently Mrs. Black's brother had appeared to have broken his hand, but it turned out that it was just swollen, not broken. Her mom had wanted to take him to the hospital and needed the car that Mrs. Black had, which was at my house. So, we got to stay, and I put on some red lipstick that I had bought the other day. I didn't know if it looked good or not, I've never bought red lipstick before, but they said it looked nice. The whole bathroom scene kind of sucked because on the way there, Fakir showed up, but he was hanging around this girl. She's his ex, but I honestly think they still care for each other. The thought of going home, not getting to see Fakir or talk to him, it kind of made me cry. But if Mrs. Black had still needed to go home, I would've taken her and stood by her. We also talked about whether Bella from Twilight is a Mary Sue, and even Mrs. Black agreed. I told this to R, but she doesn't believe me.

Anyway, we talked through the next band's set, though they were a ska band and pretty good. I think they were called Sold for Less, but we were in the bathroom for the beginning of their set. We sat on the floor, then on the couch, where we couch danced. We also saw L teaching these two old people to dance. Bunny was staring at me for a while and Mrs. Black, not knowing my past with him, turned to me and said "That guy over there is checking you out.". I later explained the whole thing to her and she said it made sense. I don't really understand what that means, so if anyone else does, let me know. He's been acting weird towards me lately, which to me makes no sense. I mean, the whole thing with giving him a Valentine and everything, that was a year ago. There's no real reason to think about it now, I know I've moved on.

Finally, we got to see Fakir's band play. They're called The Ticonderogas and they're a ska band. They played a lot of covers and a few of their own songs as well. The best was when they played "Set On You" by George Harrison. They play that song where I work a lot, and since he was a Beatle, it reminds me of Fakir. Fakir's favorite band is the Beatles, in case I've never mentioned that. I totally want to get that song from Amazon and put it on my playlist of songs that make me think of him.

Mrs. Black made sure that we got a nice spot on the side near the photographer. There was also a guy with a video camera recording stuff, they like to put stuff up on YouTube so that their families who can't make it can see. If anyone wants, I can try and link to some of their stuff. It was so awesome, I could see Fakir playing guitar, L playing sax and the singer/trombone player, too. I could also see the keyboard player, who is a nice guy. Fakir plays trombone as well, but he plays guitar in this band, I'm not sure why. He also plays bass, I've seen him play that, and a bit of piano. I feel bad for not knowing as many instruments as he does.

I even started dancing while they played, along with Mrs. Black and Pique. We had to leave early though, because Mrs. Black and Pique had to go home the next day and so they had to leave early in the morning. I also had to get up early for work. I got home around ten thirty, I think they got home around eleven.

Even though I didn't get to talk to Fakir and Bunny stared at me weird, I was still happy to have gone. I had a lot of fun, and Fakir's band is awesome. It was nice to see him play guitar. Also, it made me feel like I'm starting to get out of my shell a bit and I'm going to try and talk to L more, since she's playing in my recital and stuff. I don't know about Fakir, I wrote on the keyboard player and L's walls on FB and they both wrote me back, but Fakir didn't. I don't really know what to make of him sometimes, but I think he doesn't think much of me. Still, if I can learn to be more open with other kids from school and have fun in the process, I think it's fine for me to have these feelings, even if they don't amount to anything or I end up getting hurt. Or both.

I haven't done much else. I've been really tired, so I tried to nap yesterday, but it threw off my sleep so that I didn't sleep last night. I got home early today and took another nap, but I don't know when I'll go to bed tonight. I made sure to get a lot done today so that I won't have to go out tomorrow until school. It's supposed to be bad out for the next three days, although today was really nice. I finally got over my fear of giving the Stop and Shop guy my keys when I buy stuff there. Though the cashier looked at me like I was little girl, since all my anime keychains are on there. I'll have to take a picture of those, too, and put it on my Photobucket. Oh well, if I can learn from all this, it will be worth it.

Now I have to do homework and continue to prepare for my recital next week. I'll keep you all posted on this and let you know how it goes. Bye! *Duck*/*Rukia*

<< Monday, Feb. 22, 2010@9:06 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew