Hartford, New England's Rising Star

Well, I went to the mall in Connecticut with my Dad yesterday. We got the laptop, a 15 inch PowerBook with SuperDrive. I turned it on and it wanted me to connect it to the internet, so I tried to connect it to the cable modem, but the modem's software is doesn't work with it. So, my Dad was going to get some cheap dial up for it, but he decided to try and buy something that would connect both the Gateway and the Apple in a network so they could both share the high speed internet, which would be nice. I'm not sure if it can be done though, due to the fact that since the people at Microsoft are such assholes, my Apple and my Gateway both seem to be reading different binary codes. So, I could be writing entries on my Apple as soon as next week, but that's only if it can be done and my Dad gets some extra tips.

I wasn't feeling well today at all. I had to call the doctor because when I came home yesterday, I took a nap and when I woke up, I had this searing pain in my left side. I'm pretty sure it's my cyst again, but I'm not supposed to even have one now that I'm on birth control, which is why I was on it in the first place. So, I worked out and played guitar and clarinet then I read a book and went to bed around one. When I woke up, it was five am and it was thundering and lightning out. The pain in my left side was still there, so bad I couldn't walk right or even sit up. I finally convinced myself to call the doctor, I wanted to wait a month, but I just can't anymore. I'm worried that if I called too late, I wouldn't be able to get it fixed before I go to college. I have an appointment Tuesday night, but I'm really not sure what the doctor will say. I think I'm going to need surgery to get it removed, though I don't think it's anything major.

I saw the title when we were going through Hartford yesterday, and I honestly don't believe it. If New England includes Maine, New Hampshire and Vermont as well (my Dad says it does) as Connecticut,Rhode Island and Massachusetts, then there are plenty of other cities, better than Hartford. It's such a dump there, it's like Providence, but in a different state and without a flashy mall. There's all these rusted out buildings and it doesn't seem like there's anything there. Boston is obviously the only star New England has, or will ever have, as all the New England teams play in or very close to Boston. Hartford doesn't even have the lower league versions of the big league teams, probably because Providence and Pawtucket are closer to Boston.

Anyway, my Dad and I went to eat at the Rainforest Cafe and the food there was really good. I felt like a little kid, because they have all these anamatronic animals, gorrillas, butterflies and elephants that make noise, flap their wings and move their trunks up and down, respectively. It's kind of dark in there and wet, just like a rainforest, but it's really nice. I liked the tropical fish in the tanks and my Dad and I were next to the gorrillas, who went off every fifteen minutes. The food was good, too, though it wasn't cheap. They had this cool Volcano dessert with a sparkler on the top. I wish sparklers were legal here, I really like them.

I spent most of the day today sleeping because I didn't sleep well last night. I'm still trying to get used to my computer. I played some music on it before, and it has really nice speakers. I'm sorry if I'm boring anyone talking about my computer. I got an iPod, too, but I don't want to use it until my laptop is connected to the internet, because without that, I can't find information on the cds I play and I would have to type in the information for about one hundered cds, which I'm too lazy to do. I still have to work on that layout, and I will do that tomorrow, I promise. I had planned to do it today, but I was too tired. I might not make my own background though, I'm really trying to do it the lazy way. Feel free to call me lazy.

I found this really cool magazine that everyone has probably known about for longer than I have. It's called Alternative Press and they have music reviews and stuff about indie rock and popular bands as well. I don't think they kiss butt like Rolling Stone does. They don't seem as guy oriented, either, I was looking at some back issues at Interpunk.com, where I ordered two, and they had no ugly half naked idiots on the cover. I definately want a subscription to it, but I have to wait until the week after next, to figure out what's going on as far as college goes. I also need to figure out when to tell the Entertainment Weekly people where to send my magazine. I don't even know where I will be yet. I'm kind of ticked they didn't send me any roomate stuff, not even a questionaire on what I like so they could match me up with someone by intrest. I just hope I end up with a girl who likes some of the things I like. If she doesn't, I can always watch the weird shows I like on my computer. I really wish that there was some kind of thing on this where you could list what tv shows you like. The Simpsons is still my favorite, but I think Reno 911! is great, mostly because the cops are so stupid, selfish and they all pretend to like each other when they really hate each other. I'm also counting down the days until I Love the '90's comes on, because I'm actually going to be able to relate to this one, and I want to see if anything I liked in the '90's actually makes the cut. I think that teen pop will, and I can't believe it, but I used to actually like the Spice Girls and all those other stupid girl groups. I can't wait until Aqua Teen Hunger Force Volume Two comes out on DVD, either, because it's going to have some of my favorite episodes on it.

Yes, this is what I've been doing with my summer. Bonding with my tv and my computer, when I should be out in the sun, bonding with real people. Just the thought of it makes me depressed. I'm giong to the beach sometime in the next week or so, by myself, because my Dad doesn't like the beach I don't think. I'll probably go on Friday, or maybe Tuesday, depending on if I feel like getting up early and leaving the beach around three. I think I might do like my Grandmother used to do with me when I was little and even pack my own lunch and stuff like that. My Dad got this SmartMusic thing that he gave to me to practice with and I think I might actually use it tomorrow, I would love to see if it changes the way I play guitar at all, and I know I could use a tool to help me get better. I'll write more later, since Best Week Ever is coming on soon. I need to learn to stop talking about my television and my guitar, as if they were my boyfriend.

*Racecar*

<< Friday, Jul. 02, 2004@10:17 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew