My dog is afraid of the American flag

These past two days have been pretty boring and pretty normal. It seems like everyone thinks today is a holiday, which really irritates me, because it's not. It's the day after the Fourth of July, if you went out and got drunk or did drugs last night, then that's your problem. I just don't think that today is a holiday, even though yesterday was. So, all my favorite places to go were closed today, too and I went to my clarinet lesson and then came home. I'm still frustrated with the clarinet, I don't like the way the book is written. I'm trying to get it down and I think I'm getting better.

I did the usual tonight, played clarinet, played guitar and then worked out. I honestly wasn't in the mood to go to Weight Watchers and Grandma said it wasn't open so I didn't go. I can't stand to hear my Aunt's voice for two hours, telling me stuff I already heard two years ago and somehow still remember. I thought I could go next Monday but I can't because I have to pick my Dad up at work and he gets out at four. I have to leave right after lessons because we have to go to Albany from there. The orientation is next Tuesday and Wednesday, so I'm going to have to bring my guitar and clarinet with me. I'm not sure which guitar to bring though, probably one of my acoustics. I don't see what the point of bringing my laptop would be. An Apple isn't like a PC in the way that the OS doesn't come with anything like Word or Notepad. It comes with iDvd, iTunes and GarageBand, which are all nice, but I really can't use them right now, mostly because I don't have the internet or anything like PowerPoint to make presentations on.

Yesterday I went up to my Grandma's as usual and we went to Bickford's, where it took them about fourty minutes just to give us the food we ordered, which was chocolate chip pancakes and a cheese on toast sandwhich, neither of which take more than fifteen minutes to make if one person is making them. So, we got a free meal because we nearly walked out and my Grandmother said it ruined her day, which somehow made me feel bad. Then we got ice cream and went to a dollar store in Providence, where I honestly felt kind of dizzy. I've been feeling like that a great deal lately, I'm not sure what is going on with me, but I don't think it's anything big.

I came home and played my guitar and worked out, as I played clarinet in the morning. Then, my Dad and I went to the high school with Blake to see the fireworks. We got there at around eight fourty five and they didn't start until almost an hour later, as we were leaving the parking lot of the high school. So, we went to Wood Estates (which is where all the snotty well off people of Welfare Town live, at least in the newer houses) and watched them through the trees. While walking Blake around this girl came up to us and asked about him, if he was pure bred, if he was fully grown and if he bites. I think it's funny because if you knew Blake, you would realize what a wuss he is. If someone yells at him, he runs right to his cage and if you hug him, which he doesn't like, he just slowly squeezes his way out. He's never bitten, even when the vet took some blood from him, which made him squirm and whimper.

The fireworks were nice and you could smell the gun powder, mostly because the sun roof of the car was open. Blake hid in the back the whole time, while Ginger was at home, probably hiding for cover under my chair. Even tonight, she hid in my room for about an hour, though I didn't hear any fireworks. They were all different colors, though I think the green and purple ones don't really fit in with the patriotic theme of the Fourth of July, unless they were two of the favorite colors of the Founding Fathers. We got lost on the way home, because Wood Estates is like a giant maze and finding your way out is hard, especially in the dark.

This morning, when I got up, I put Blake outside and he was barking like crazy. I thought he wanted to come in, but he looked at me funny when I asked him to. He kept running around but not going near the door. I even opened it for him, but he wouldn't come in. So, I took the American flag my Dad put up in the house and he finally came in. When I picked it up to figure out where to put it, he ran to his cage as if I was going to hurt him with it. I seriously think he's afraid of the flag, but I don't know why. I waved it near Ginger, but she just flopped on the floor and ignored me, much like she's doing now. I think it's cute how she follows me around the house and loves my room, even though it's a mess. I don't think she knows she's supposed to be my dog, but I do feel a bond with her.

So, that was my weekend, and this week looks to be kind of boring. I have to go to the doctor tomorrow to see about my cyst. I hope it's still there, just so she knows I'm not faking it, because I'm afraid that's what she'll think. It's not bothering me now, but I know when I go back on my medication, I will have pain just as bad, or even worse than, before. I'm going to go and watch Reno 911! now, because I missed some of the newest episode. I'll write tomorrow if anything really interesting happens.

*Racecar*

<< Monday, Jul. 05, 2004@10:08 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew