You're a distraction!

I did my last final today and I think that I did really good. I was really nervous about it, especially when they asked me to play a scale and the sight reading part. I did really good on both parts, mostly because they were both in G Major and that is a pretty easy key, not like C flat Major or F sharp major, which have a good amount of sharps and flats. I did good on my two songs, too, even though I was little nervous and the musicians didn't have a copy of the music, which I thought they would have been given ahead of time because I made four copies and gave them to the secretary of the music department over a week ago. There were only two judges there, so I figured they'd given the copies to the musicians, why else would they ask for four? The drummer didn't seem to mind, but I think he knew the songs. The bassist got mad right away, which was stupid because he was playing a cheap Squire bass, too. I don't get how you can be a professional paid musician and be playing a bass that costs all of a hundred dollars. It kind of bothered me that he got mad because I had only made those four copies and I thought it was right of me to assume they had been given copies to read off of already. Other than that, things went really smooth and the head of the jazz department helped by playing the piano part of "Cantelope Island" and it helped me to figure out where the key changes were when I was soloing, which in turn helped me remember where I was. I actually had the song itself down from memory. Has that ever happened to anyone? Where you're playing an instrument and your fingers just take control over you and they actually are doing the right things? That's what happens when I play those songs, and I'm not sure if it's good or bad because sometimes it gets me lost. Especially when the melody repeats a pattern like in "Cantelope Island" the first and second eight measures of melody (after the intro) are the same and it kind of gets me lost.

Then I went and sold my Western Civ book to the bookstore for seventeen dollars and my Dad paid my tuition for next semester. I think we screwed up on the FAFSA last year and they think my Dad makes $29,000 a year instead of $21,000 and that's why they won't give me a dime. I just don't get why Saint Rose gave me so much then. Ugh. I hate the way that college has been so hard for me but it seems like it is so easy for everyone else to find a college, get in and be able to get some financial aid but it seems like all of that has been hard and it just sucks. I just want to go to college and not have to spend half of it try to get the stuff I need to get through it.

Then we went to Best Buy and I got The Simpsons fifth season DVD and Shaun of the Dead on DVD. My Dad also picked out a new cd case for me because my old one was/is a binder and you know how the teeth don't always meet? Well, that's what is happening to this binder and so every now and then, about five pages will fall out of my cd case, which is about forty cds. This one locks and I don't think it's a binder. I hate binders, even the ones I used to have to use for school. If I do become a teacher I'm not going to require kids to get binders for my class, because they are a pain and they always get to the point where the two parts of the binder don't meet right and the pages fall out really easily.

Then we went to go see The Incredibles and it was really good. I really liked it and I definately want it when it comes out on DVD. I also wondered if anyone out there knows what a funnel cake is and if it's any good. They had them at the movie theater but I've never really seen them around here. My Dad thinks they are like doughboys but he has never had one. He said that they have them often in the Midwest, but they don't really have them out here except for at the movie theater.

After that I did the usual stuff and my Grandma called and she wants me to stay over on Christmas eve. I really don't want to because she won't let me play my guitar or clarinet around her and I never sleep well at her house because sleeping on her mattress is like sleeping on rocks. I really like to stay home around Christmas, though I'm not sure why. I know that my Dad doesn't have any suprises for me so it's not like I'll miss anything.

We have to go and do our Christmas shopping tomorrow. I have to go to the therapist around eleven thirty and then I have a dentist appointment at one and that is going to suck. The dentist likes to hum to the music and pretty much every radio station around here is playing bad Christmas music. I want to go to Circuit City because of their big cd sale where the cds are only ten bucks. I put up a Wish List on Amazon and I'll eventually link to it through my template. Right now I'll just put a link right here, it's mostly to let me know the things I want (I know it's dumb but I forget that stuff sometimes). Meg suggested I make one and if anyone does want to get me anything (you don't have to, obviously), I don't care if you get a used copy of the stuff I want, either. Anyways here it is:Racecar's wish list..

I'm going to go to bed now. I'll write more later. Bye!
*Racecar*

<< Wednesday, Dec. 22, 2004@9:47 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew