A Topaz that doesn't sparkle

Well, I made it to school and back in one piece, which amazed me. The Topaz scares me and Dad intends only to use it as a backup and not to have me drive it. I'm so happy to hear that, because I literally cried at the thought of having to drive that thing for the next two years. Everything in the car is disconnected, there's no horn, no oxygen sensor (so the engine light is ALWAYS on) and no emergency brake. Sounds safe, huh? The car makes noise like a diesel though it's not, the controls are crazy considering it's a 1989 Topaz and most Fords/Mercurys (who can tell much of a difference?) aren't like that. My Mom's 1989 Taurus was nothing like this car. I don't know how to turn on the wipers or the headlights. It also vibrates like crazy when it idles, hates turn and loves to wander all over the road.

My Dad is going to move my car into the garage and work on it, probably tomorrow and Sunday night. He tried to get a boot for it today at Fiore (the crappy Volkswagen dealer) and this dumb guy didn't seem to know what one was. If you work at a car dealership, in the parts departmen, I think you need to know what you are selling. It had to be ordered, but I think the guy was a Pontiac expert (they sell Pontiacs and GMC trucks there as well.). I hate the way people treat foreign cars like they're inferior. It sucks to go to one of those places that gives a free alignment when you buy tires from there and they say they can't do your car because it requires metric tools that they don't have so it's not free. Seriously, there are more foreign cars on the road than American ones (at least around here, there's a so many big ass Benzs it's sad). That's the problem in Rhode Island, people drive cars for status, so there's tons of flashy Mercedes Benzs, which is dumb, because you can rip those hood ornaments off so easily and parts are not cheap for them. I think we should just give in and convert to metric like the rest of the world already has, it's not like they don't teach it in school and it's not nearly as hard as anyone thinks. I think it would help our economy because it would mean foreign products could be made the way they are and not have to have English system stuff written all over them to go to the U.S.

I took my Theory test and did okay, I think. If my chart was wrong, I failed because the chart was what we used for intervals (it was a chart with the number of half steps and the names of the intervals on the sides, we had to memorize it). I have to sign up for Theory 2 on Sunday, I'll let everyone know how that turns out.

I went to my job interview. I swear, I feel so out of place everywhere I go. All these girls had straight hair, black with dark brown eyes. It's like the whole state of Rhode Island is composed of just Italians and Irish. It really sucks to have curly hair and green eyes (I think, either that or they're blue) and I'm really light, too. I wore a red shirt from two years ago that I just figured out has an adjustable neckline, which is nice because it made me look waay too busty, and it would be really bad to show off my boobs when applying to a kid's store (I don't like showing off my boobs ever, I don't honestly know who would).

They all had fake nails and a few of them said their greatest accomplishment over the past few months was quitting smoking, where as I said it was getting into private guitar lessons at CCRI. I didn't have any retail experience and they did. I don't think it went to well, but I'll know sooner or later. I don't know if I would like working there and I don't really know if I'm going to fit in there or anything. I would love to work at a place where I would fit in, but I have no idea where that would be. I really want this job though, I should be taking care of my own stuff by now and not having my Dad do it all for me. It makes me feel so guilty.

I came home after that and ate some lollipops that I got when my Dad put gas in the truck. I hope he can get the Jetta on the road again for Monday, but if not, at least it will be in the garage for a while, it's never been in there before even though we've had it for almost two years now. Oh, and my Grandma keeps saying it's my Dad's fault that the Topaz is messed up, but I think it's just because the car is junk and my uncle took bad care of it. There were still cigarette butts in it, and my Dad NEVER smoked cigarettes. I just hate the way she hates my Dad and she hates the way that I look English like he does and not Italian like she does. I don't like the way I look, and I wonder if it's because of that. I hate the way she is always saying how stupid and bad my Dad is, I'm very defensive of him and I feel bad sometimes that he got stuck with a bad wife and a daughter like me.

I have to get ready to go to bed now. I'm going to attempt to go to Newbury Comics tomorrow with that dumb car. It's so cold out tonight, it was hailing outside and Blake got some of it on his fur when he went out. He's such a cute little dog (he's actually kind of medium sized). He got jealous and started barking today when I picked Ginger up and hugged her, but I don't get to often beecause she doesn't like many people, she only really likes my Dad. She looks like a little teddy bear though, so I love the pick her up and hug her. I did and Blake got mad and started barking, but he kissed and made up with me. He likes to give kisses, it's so cute, but he likes to put his tongue on my glasses, too, which isn't so cute. I'm watching MTV2 right now and Beavis and Butt-head Do America is on. I used to love that movie and now I don't even watch it. I don't even have it on DVD, but it's only $10 at Best Buy so I figure I could get it someday when I'm there with my Dad. I used to love Beavis and Butt-head, I'm the only person I know who watched that show, because everyone else thinks it's either dumb or violent. It was really funny though, but MTV2 never shows newer episodes, just the same ones over and over again, it really sucks. I'm going to go and watch Best Week Ever and then go to bed. Bye!
*Racecar* P.S.-I saw a car in the CCRI parking lot that looked like my Jetta, but it said "Bora" on the back instead of "Jetta" just how on mine it says "Vento" instead of "Jetta". Vento and Bora are what they're called in Europe, though I wonder why there are Jettas with the European namees on them in the U.S. I just find that weird. Bora, what a dumb name.

<< Friday, Nov. 12, 2004@10:20 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew