I watch Dragonball: Evolution just to make sure I can still feel.

I've been up to a lot since I last wrote in here, even though it wasn't that long ago. Let me go through each day, even though it's not going to take me long.

Thursday:
I wanted to sleep in, since I was up late on Wednesday night/Thursday morning (see the last entry). I woke up around ten, ate breakfast and did some other stuff, then went back to bed. That didn't last long, because my Dad went to pick up Ginger at the groomer. I guess she was breathing pretty hard when she was there and very sedate. While I was in bed, half awake, my Dad called my name, which I thought was part of my dream. Then he said "I think Ginger is dead." I didn't think he was being serious sometimes he would joke that she was dying because she would wag her tail at me or be nice to me. When I finally decided to get up, I looked at her, and she was dead. Her eyes were open and she wasn't moving an inch. She was lying on the floor, under the saw that has been in the living room for the past three weeks (no, that's not a joke, I wish it was). Later on, my Dad buried her on the side of the house. It hadn't fully sunk in with me yet (it still hasn't), but I know he's been pretty upset, she was his dog, after all.

You see, we got Ginger when I was 12, but she was supposed to be my dog. Instead, she clung to my Dad and had been doing so ever since. Lately she had been very withdrawn from him, and my Dad realized now that it was probably because she was sick, and she knew she was dying. He wished that he had noticed sooner. I think she had heart failure, because the vet said last year that she had a heart murmur. I don't know why he didn't prescribe some pills for her, it's like vets hate them or something. Blake is slowly but surely going bald, even though we bathe him every week with the stuff they gave us, and I don't get why he doesn't have cream or pills. I mean, Shetland Sheepdogs aren't supposed to be bald. Saya is the only healthy one in this house, I hope she stays that way for a long time.

Around five, we left for Boston, so that we could go see The Thermals. They are, hands down, my favorite band that is around right now. I had heard some mixed things about them live, so I wasn't sure if I would enjoy it or not. Not to mention it was my first concert in almost a year. We got there at seven thirty, so we went to McDonald's and we were still at the door of the place (called The Middle East) a little bit before eight, which is what it said on the tickets. We thought the show started at eight, but it was more like nine thirty. So, we sat around for a hour and a half. This nice couple came in around nine and talked to us for most of the breaks in the show, I learned a lot about the Thermals that I didn't know, which was cool.

The first and second bands were both good, but the Thermals were the best. They came on a little bit before 11:30 (I had wanted to leave at 11, but I gave up on that quickly). They were so good, I decided to stay for the whole set, so that I could see them, since I might not get another chance for a long time. They played for about an hour, and it was awesome, they played music from all their albums, but mostly their second and third albums. I kind of wished they'd played "How We Fade" from their new album (which is their fourth), but you can't argue with "Now We Can See" that song is the best. I have to admit, I thought the lead singer looked kind of cute, I think it was because he was wearing one of those dorky suits that professors tend to wear. What is it with me and guys in suits? Oh, and I saw the bass player walk around a few times before they actually played, she went and listened to the other bands, which was so awesome. I think she is kind of the spokesperson for the band, because I notice the interviews are with her usually, and that she talked a lot more than the singer did. I thought it was cool though, and I have to admit I admire her.

We got home around two thirty and I went right to bed. I had to get up early for my stupid exam on Friday. I got up at ten thirty, showed up a little bit late, and didn't do as good as I thought I would, though I did pass. I was mad at myself for not realizing my guitar chord wasn't working right. It didn't help that Bunny was staring at me as I played. I wanted to slap him upside his skull. I'm mean, aren't I? If you're wondering, it was an electronic music thing where we had to write an electronic composition with a regular instrument as well. I chose electric guitar because I miss playing it, but I should've checked the amp and stuff first, though I had practiced it Thursday without incident, so I don't know why it didn't work right Friday.

I left feeling a bit irritated, and I got home later than I wanted to. I ended up playing guitar really quick, trying to get in a quick nap, and then going to yet another concert. This one was at Lupo's in Providence, so I knew I would get home at a decent time. I planned on leaving the venue around eleven.

I got there at seven forty five, parking at the first lot I saw (which was kind of far off from the venue, though I could always use the walk). I waited in a long line to get in with some Canadian girls, though one sounded like she'd come straight from Germany. When I got in, I got a shirt (I got a Thermals one the night before, too, it's kind of a semi-tradition for me) and found a spot to stand in. I stood there the whole concert. There was only one band before Franz Ferdinand, which was odd. They weren't very good, either, but Franz Ferdinand came on at 10 pm and made up for that (the show started at 9). They played for an hour and a half, which is long by concert standards, and they even took requests. They played almost all of their first album, two songs from their second (I think they secretly, or not so secretly hate it, because it wasn't even on sale at the merch table, though the other two were).

I actually was glad I went to see them, and I don't know that I could tell you which concert I liked better, as they were both good in their own ways. It doesn't help that the lead singer for Franz Ferdinand is actually cute, and always has been cute. I felt kind of sad staring at him the way I did, but I don't get to see cute Scottish boys often. His accent was just adorable, I really wish people with Scottish and British accents were on TV more often, it's just the cutest accent. I wish I could go out with at least one guy with an accent, but I really doubt that will happen. This state is so white and plain that it could kill.

I got home around midnight on Friday, getting out of Lupo's was surprisingly easy (which it rarely is, but most people at that show were around 16, so their parents probably picked them up). I went to bed around one thirty, and then I got up at ten thirty. I worked out and went to work.

Saturday and Sunday kind of blurred into each other. I seriously spent most of the days on my feet, working my butt off. It was okay, but I hated how tired I was and how badly my feet and back hurt. I did get to watch Bleach and Code Geass on Saturday night, though that only added to my malaise because I didn't get enough sleep Saturday night. I adore watching Bleach when it airs and Code Geass is finally new after almost two months of reruns (I actually kind of forgot what was going on, I hope Bandai puts season 2 on YouTube soon). I'm starting to like Bleach again, after the agonizing Bount Arc and the cannon that somehow has filler in it (don't ask), it's getting good again. I love seeing it each week and wondering which voice actor they'll use for the new character or characters that show up. It's exciting in a good way. I just hope they don't screw it up, but I think they're working hard on it.

When I got home on Sunday, I was so tired I went right to bed. Today I went to work in the morning and then I tried to go to sleep when I got home, but I couldn't. I ended up going to Barnes and Noble to see if they got any new manga in but they hadn't. I went to Best Buy to see if they had Kanon, but they don't have the full series. I don't know if I'll even like the show, I wish it was online (legally, though it might not be online illegally, either), the dub is supposed to be really good.

Not much else is going on. I gave Blake a bath, he knows about Ginger and seems to be looking for her. I actually feel the worst for him, losing his best friend (Fry) and his sister figure (Ginger) so soon must confuse him. He's also loosing his fur due to psoriasis, which is why we have to give him a bath once a week. I don't know why they don't give him some pills for it as well. The shampoo helps, but he is still loosing fur and will be bald soon if nothing is done. I'm starting to think the vets around here are special ed.

24 is on, so I'm going to try and watch it and play guitar. I'll write more later. Bye.*Racecar*

<< Monday, May. 11, 2009@8:25 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew