A Princess with no Prince?

I never write on here anymore. I'm not sure why. It's probably because I'm not online that much anymore and also because when I am, it's sometimes because I can't sleep. I have eczema, so I always sleep with a gardening glove on my right hand with Cerave in it (it's a cream that creates a barrier around the skin to protect it, it's over the counter and it's amazing). So, I can't type with my hand that way, which means I can't do any writing when I have insomnia. And I'm so tired that I really don't want to work out, so I read online, or even books. I hate it because I feel like I'm doing nothing. Not to mention I wake up really tired, which makes me even more lazy.

I got an iPad for my birthday, so I've gotten a few books on it. It's pretty fun and it will save me money in the long run. Two of my favorite manga publishers have apps for the iPad and publish most of their manga through it. It's cheaper to buy it on there than it is at B&N, and they have more of a selection. Ever since Borders closed, I realized that I can't keep buying my manga in a store. The selection is getting crazy small (unless I go to Comicopia in Boston, which I loved, but I can't afford to go there very often and their prices are all MSRP, which isn't cheap, I get a discount at B&N and online). Not to mention the books themselves are taking up too much space. Yes, I could get rid of some, and I probably will at some point, but even then, it's not just a matter of that because I have things like clothes and DVDs that also take up space (though I need to get rid of some of those as well). Basically, an e-reader saves me money and space so it will be good in the long run.

Granted, the whole iPad thing is weird now in the wake of Steve Jobs' death. I feel weird, because I've wanted to learn more about him since his death, which seems morbid and stupid. I've been using Macs since 2004, and I've really liked them, not just because they are fancy looking or easy to use, but because they are reliable and their customer service is quite good. I wanted a Mac even when I was little (we had them in our elementary school, that was right before Windows came out), though we never could afford one, even when owning one became cool again. I worked my butt of senior year of high school so I could get mine as a graduation present. Things will change, but I don't think the company will die, but people are really stupid about things will happen. I mean, the iPad is probably going to be just like a Mac, but in tablet form. Which means it will sell just like a Mac, with a small percentage of the market and a dedicated following who will buy almost every update they can afford. The minute we get decent Windows and Android tabs at low prices is the minute people will start buying those instead. In this economy, that does make sense, but I think in almost any economy it would. Especially since most people still use Windows, so these other tablets would be more compatible.

Anyway, I haven't been up to much. I went to see 50/50 on my birthday and liked it a lot. It was nice to see a movie that made cancer both funny and sad, I hate the way it's always presented as a melodramatic thing. It is, but you have to find humor in life or it's not really worth it. At least in my opinion, and that's as someone who has had 2 close family members die of cancer. We also went out to Chili's which was only okay, and we went to iParty and talked. It was fun, I went with Sousuke and R. They are probably my two favorite people to hang out with because they tend to encourage my childish side, which I actually like.

Granted, Sousuke and I hang out all the time, pretty much. Mostly because he lives nearby and we work at the same place. Which actually almost changed for a while. I went to go work with a marketing agency, but I can't do sales, even if it's base pay plus commission, I just can't be on my feet for 10 hours a day, and I don't like pushing things on people if they are happy with what they have. Not to mention I was nervous about the idea of sales, and I think, even if I was successful, I would still worry about meeting quotas or being able to keep a steady income.

I know I mentioned Sterling in my last post. Well, he never returned my call or message on Facebook. In fact, I'm pretty sure he defriended me on FB. I don't really care, I think I was too chatty on our date and he was too quiet. I felt bad for making him pay for me twice, and I did want to at least pay him back to not seem like some high maintenance girl, but he obviously didn't feel the same. I don't think we went well together anyway. I was supposed to go on a date with another guy, and he ditched me at the last minute, which stung a little, okay, a lot. I mean, I drove a rental car I wasn't even supposed to be driving to a part of Providence I was neither familiar nor comfortable with, just so we could go on a date. So I could show him how Mac OS X Lion works (which I honestly know little about, even though I've used it everyday since August). Yeah, he didn't even really say sorry and gave me a bullshit excuse saying his grandma was sick and he had to leave an hour early on a Saturday. Why not just leave Friday night? I'll probably never know, but I'm pretty sure he was lying and I don't know why.

I'm kind of irritated with guys. I deleted my dating site profile on OKCupid because I kept getting guys who wanted to date multiple girls at a time and such. I wish I had the money and work hours that would allow me to go out and do things, but I don't know that those two will ever be right. I hate seeing girls on my Facebook in relationships with cute guys and such, I sometimes wonder if I am even worthy of the kind of guy I want to be with, as none of those guys seem to think so.

I can't look for another job because there is honestly nothing out there. And the stuff that is out there is either no good or the employer is super picky. So, I decided I won't accomplish my goal of finding another job this year and will wait until at least February. Until then, I'm trying to save up for a new phone (mine is over 2 years old) and another pair of Doc Martens. I'm not getting a Christmas gift from my Dad, as my iPad was a combination of the two (obviously). I need to figure out what to get him as well, and try and save up for that.

Anyway, I'm going to get ready for bed. I'm working on a prequel to Hazel and Duane called Hazel and Solomon. I've been posting the chapters to Facebook, but if anyone is interested, I can post the chapters on here as well. Good night!-*Duck*

<< Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2011@9:47 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew