Now I have that song caught in my head!

Yesterday I woke up really late and I went to my clarinet lesson, which was okay. I was mad because my clarinet teacher made me play some songs I had already played a week ago. I'm going to ask him to keep a little notebook of what we cover so that he doesn't do that again. He usually writes down what I need to do on my book, but I guess he didn't that week. I went to Newbury Comics and got some cds. I finally got Tyranny of Distance by Ted Leo and the Pharmacists, which was hard to find a used copy of, since I've heard that is their best cd. I hate the way that the cutest guys work at Newbury, because it is so embarassing to be buying cds in front of them, because I don't know what those guys think is cool or not. I always feel like I look ugly or act like a dork in front of them, the girls who work there are cool, too, and you don't want to make an idiot out of yourself in front of them. That whole store is cool, because they play good music in there and they have cd prices that are comparable to Best Buy's, but they have more than Best Buy does and actually organize it.

I went to the John Mellencamp concert last night, and it was okay. John Fogerty played, too and he played with John Mellencamp as well. They both played things that I didn't know, but my Dad was the one who wanted to go. He liked the concert and thought that both guys were good. We did get into an argument about a song though, my Dad seems to think that John Fogarty wrote "I Heard it Through the Grapevine", which is total crap, because I've heard older versions of that song. It's weird because there are tons of versions of it, but I think the one that I am most famaliar with is the Marvin Gaye version, though he wasn't the first to record the song. It's pretty obvious that it's not a Creedence Clearwater Revival song, which my Dad thought it was. I like Marvin Gaye's version a million times more than the one John Fogerty played last night. He had no soul in his voice and he just didn't seem like he was really feeling it, but if you listen to the Marvin Gaye version he sounds so sincere about it, at least he does to me. I can't believe my Dad didn't know that song. I grew up listening to the oldies station around here, so I really do love most R&B songs from the '60's.

I wondered, does anyone know if that John Mellencamp song "Pink Houses" was in a commercial of some sort? I swear it was in a commercial, because I felt like I heard that song a million times before I heard it live last night. I'm going to try and look it up online and see.

There isn't much else I have to say. I woke up early this morning and did my usual stuff to get ready for work. It looks like Colleen is going to get fired tomorrow, since she hasn't shown up in almost two weeks. It really pisses me off that she would do that, because if she had told the people at Wal-Mart that her baby was sick and she was going to need some time off to take care of her, they would have been fine with it. Instead she didn't tell them anything and now everyone there is kind of ticked and they think she is fired, though she isn't officially until tomorrow, when the department manager comes back.

It wasn't too bad at work tonight. I cashed my check and I now have about six hundred dollars stowed away for whatever I end up doing with it. I know I need to get another good guitar in case anything happens to Nora and I need to get her some new pickups so that she will sound loud as can be. I'm going to get my car looked at this coming week and see how much that is going to cost. I would like to get anything that needs to be done to my car done to it before the winter comes. I'll write more later. My magazine that I ordered last week came and I really want to read it. Good night.
*Racecar*
P.S.-I want to write about some things that are on my mind. I'll probably write about them tomorrow night, hence this entry is kind of shitty and short.

<< Friday, Jul. 08, 2005@10:51 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew