Desperation and deceit

I'm not sure if this is any good, but I wanted to put it here. I've wanted to write something good for so long, I'm hoping I've finally done it, but I'm not sure at all. I wish I was as good as my teachers used to think I was, I feel like my mind has rotted out or something. I was looking for poems to use, in case my teacher doesn't like the one I chose, but I can't find one I like that isn't written by someone who isn't still alive. I don't even know if this one is good enough, but it's kind of my last shot.
"Born out of desperation"
The dark, lonely night
Is filled with tawdry music
And the haunting glow
Of his old computer screen

His eyes are saucers
Empty
His skin is pale
He's almost dead

The cigarette smoke rises
Around the bags of trash
While the empty takeout boxes
Are the sign he's alive
But barely
Fear has overcome him
What if others judge him?
The conspiracy consumes him
Until he's destroyed

Too afraid to live
Too afraid to die
Too afraid to open up
And too afraid to come outside

He'll stay
Locked away
Until the lights turn off
Until the food runs out

He finds himself running
Into the golden light of day
Begging for another chance
Knowing he's just a stray

There he finds salvation
In a heart as lonely
As his own
And together they continue
Their lives of desperation


<< Monday, Jan. 26, 2009@12:24 a.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew