Could someone love me for my mind?

It's reallly snowy and cold out. The wind is really whipping around right now. There's already about six inches of snow on the ground, if not more. I'm not really looking forward to tomorrow (or today, as it will be before I finish this entry) because I'll have to shovel out the walkway and clean my car off so I can get out on Monday morning and go to school. They're saying we could get almost two feet of snow. Grrr. I hate New England sometimes and this is definately one of those times.

I have come up with a really dumb goal that I want to do come hell or high water, but I have the feeling I won't be able to do it, even if I want to. I really want to go see U2 when they come to Boston at the end of May, because I know they won't come to RI and probably not Connecticut either. Massachusetts always gets all the attention and it sucks sometimes, actually all the time. Boston is really getting it's butt kicked right now though. I don't think that Dad will go with me, or if he did it would have to be on a Wednesday and I don't think that he will want to take a day off or anything for it. I almost want to go by myself, but I know that it can get dangerous in a city. It sucks being young and not having tons of friends who like the same stuff. I don't think there is anyone around here who likes U2, I honestly don't know anyone who likes them, they must all be living somewhere else.

I've been really bummed out lately. I could barely finish singing today I was so upset, which I know sounds dumb. I was just angry at the way almost everyone was being a major asshole today. Route 3 was so busy, everyone in the whole town was on it. They were all getting gas and getting stuff at the market. I think the whole thing with the game tomorrow made matters worse. Everyone was getting the usual stuff, like bread and milk, but they were also getting tortilla chips and dip. It took me ten minutes just to get a parking spot and when I went to the gas station, I couldn't even wait in line without putting my car out in the road. So I went to this dumpy place where the pump was malfunctioning and the gas was five cents more, but I think coming home with a car in one piece is better than coming home with a car with a full tank of gas and no backseat. I did manage to fill the tank, but I spent all my money on that, and milk and some Lean Cusine dinners.

Yesterday was really busy. I had Music Theory first and the teacher, who is the head of the music department, showed up late. She immediately sat people in the front rows and told them they couldn't sit in the back. She didn't say anything to me because I was in the second row. It's nice that she knows my name though, I think because I talked to her over the summer she remembers me, that and she knows the story of my Dad and his Rabbit that's been rotting in his friend's yard for two and a half years now. The rims are starting to rust and it's already lost two tires. I honestly don't think that car will ever hit pavement again, though I'm glad in a way. It was my Dad's favorite car (that still exists, that is), which makes me kind of sad and it got good mileage because it had a diesel engine, but he wanted me to drive it. That thing is so noisy and smelly because it hasn't had it's windows opened in ages. It's also a standard and I don't like standards, they scare the heck out of me.

Theory was okay though, we're doing easy stuff now to review so the homework only took me thirty minutes to do today. I had to draw a circle of fifths to do it and then check my work with it. Then I went to Piano and it was boring because we keep doing the same stuff because two kids in our class don't have the book. She says that none of us have been practicing which sucks because I know I have been. I practice everyday like the nerd I am.

I then went to Jazz History and the teacher kind of creeps me out. He dresses just like my Dad does on his days off. Flannel shirts and ugly blue jeans, he's even got gray hair like my Dad, it almost feels like my Dad is telling me about jazz, though this guy isn't as overweight as my Dad and he's not balding. I read the book tonight, but the chapters we had to read were just introductions to jazz and I feel like I'm a little afraid to listen to jazz. I know I have to, but I worry that the words and the heavy rock sound are what made me like music in the first place. I worry that I can't refine my tastes enough to actually listen to Duke Ellington or Miles Davis in my car along with Green Day and Weezer. I don't think I could listen to jazz in my car, I'm not sure why, I just feel like it would require too much of my energy and focus, because I need to learn to play and improvise the way that the jazz players of the past have. I don't need to worry about that listening to rock, even though I don't think I could properly play a rock song if you paid me to.

I think I'm going to go to bed now because I'm really tired and I have a ton to do tomorrow. I'll write about my lesson and watching Ginger walk in the snow (she walks just like a bunny, hopping around) and how Blake is afraid of walking in such deep snow. He eats it though, he loves to stick his big nose in the snow and lick the snow off with his tongue, it's funny but I think you'd have to see it. Good night.
*Racecar*

<< Saturday, Jan. 22, 2005@11:59 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew