Holiday Ranting

Just a question: does anyone else start cracking up when they hear the U2 song "Vertigo"? I finally got their new cd today and I listened to the song and I just stared laughing. What is with the counting in Spanish and the part where they shout "Hola!" in the chorus? I can't help but laugh, it just doesn't sound right for Irish people to sing in Spanish. I'm probably just going crazy. It was a bitch to get that cd, too. There's two versions and one is almost twenty dollars, which is stupid. Best Buy advertised a version of the cd with just the cd (the other version has a DVD) for ten dollars, so I went there to get it. I get the first copy I see and then when I get to the register, I realize it's the copy with the DVD so, the lady at the register is stupid and goes out and gets another copy herself. I wanted to get it because then I could just get what I wanted and I'd be able to make sure it was right. Well, she gets another version and rings it up for fourteen dollars. I told her it was ten and she said that was yesterday's price. So I got mad and left, though I did shout in the parking lot because lately I have had a real temper. Anyway, I went home and looked it up online and they're selling it a Bestbuy.com for ten dollars and it was eight dollars yesterday, so I was right.

I went to Newbury Comics and got it for eleven dollars and I got the Pixies cd Surfer Rosa. They were even playing the U2 cd while I was in there, while Best Buy was playing that really annoying crap they play and that guy who talks really annoying like. I just like Newbury Comics better because whenever a band comes out with an album ALL their earlier cds, no matter how many there are, are only ten dollars, so every U2 cd ever made is ten bucks there. They just seem to like music there, too, because they always have good music playing and it's not always big name bands, I've heard Wilco and Franz Ferdinand in there, too. I think I'm just going to go there from now on becasue their cds always ring up at the right price because they put little pink stickers on them that tell you the price if the cd is on sale. If not, there's just the barcode and the regular price, though those cds can be pricey, but Best Buy has that, too. They always have almost all of the cds by a band, too. It's just nice how their selection is so big. I swear, they have the most DVDs around.

I went to my clarinet lesson. I don't playing clarinet sometimes, because the upper register is just nasty sounding, probably because I haven't been playing very long. I'm not sure what to do about being allergic to the thumb rest, either.

I went down to Wakefield yesterday and even the Wakefield mall was busy! I couldn't believe it, there's a Fashion Bug, a Waldenbooks,a KB Toys and an Office Max. There's also an FYE. Why would anyone buy gifts at those places? FYE is way too expensive, since you can go to most cd stores and get those same cds cheaper. I always liked Toys R'Us better than KB Toys, because they have more stuff, and most people these days buy toys at Wal Mart, because it's fun to fund evil companies. I don't really think most people like to read anymore and if you're getting your friends something from Office Max, then you're kind of weird. I mean, I could use some printer paper, but I really wouldn't want it for Christmas. There were people at Shaw's, too (it's a supermarket), which I don't understand because it was the day after Thanksgiving, doesn't everyone have leftovers? So, I went straight to Wakefield Music, but I was twenty minutes early, so I sat in my car eating M&Ms and watching all the cars go by.

I saw my dream car, it was a Mini Cooper with a sunroof and it was this really nice dark green. I also saw my teacher and he saw me, which was embarassing, though I'm not sure why. I also realized that the whole point of the first car you drive is to learn to drive and therefore, you have to wreck the shit out of it. But it really sucks to have to mess up a car because you can't drive properly yet and you don't have the money to fix it.

I really haven't done much else. I had to stop taking ANOTHER anti depressant because I was staying up until almost one in the morning and waking up at six, and then looking like a ghost during the day (well, more so than I already do). I had these big bags under my eyes and I was tired during the day, but I was so hyped up at night that I couldn't sleep. Sometimes I worry that I will never find something to help me be normal and I really feel like the world was made for normal girls who go shopping for their friends and boyfriend around now, and not running around STILL replacing their cd collection that was lost over a year ago. I just feel weird all the time, like I'm not normal because I have no interest in going out on Friday and Saturday nights and that I would have no one to go out with anyway. I just worry that I'm not meant for the real world.

I also hate the way that everyone gets really fresh around this time of year, or is it just me? Some people do become giving and nice, but most people just get to be assholes. You know, wanting to get gifts for their friends and family and just being really agressive about it. You always see those things on the news about dumb soccer moms fighting over toys for their kids. Honestly, is your child going to die if they don't get some dumb toy? I didn't get all the toys I wanted, and I'm sure some people wouldn't believe that because I'm an only child, but it's true. I'm not dead and it really didn't bother me or ruin my Christmas that year. I'm not tortured by that memory of wanting a life size Barbie doll (the ones that were the same size as a little kid) and opening up a cheap version that reeked of plastic. I was just disappointed and didn't play with the toy I got instead. Kids will have to deal with that stuff soon anyway, when they're adults. I just wish people would think more of being kind and less of getting the best gift ever. What's with the car commercials talking about buying people cars for Christmas? I would never want anyone spending that much money on me for one gift. I would want to pick out a car myself anyway.

I just wanted to write about that because I notice it around now and it just really makes me feel like crap. I don't even have many people to buy stuff for and I'm not going to fight with others just for some gift. I honestly don't usually like the gifts I get for Christmas, at least not since I was deemed too old for toys. I wish adults could play with toys and it would be acceptable, because I still like toys better than clothes, though I like cds more now, but no one seems to know what bands I like/would like. I'll write more later, I have to do my laundry, because I keep running out of socks, which I don't understand. I think that's a cool Christmas gift, because they have nice ones at Express that last for months but they're about twenty bucks a pair. I hope my Aunt bought me some of those this year, since she already bought me all my Christmas gifts. Bye!
*Racecar*
P.S.-Who would really want a BMW? Aren't they rear wheel drive? I heard that's not good in the snow and it seems to snow in most places in the country, so I don't see the point of a car you can't use all year round.

<< Saturday, Nov. 27, 2004@8:46 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew