My ex girlfriend is holding our son hostage!

One extra thing: visit the Milk Bar Lithium's forum, with wierd Welfare Town posts! School is finally over! Tomorrow's just an optional day, but I'm actually thinking of going. I might call Carbon and ask her what she thinks. Last year it was really fun, because we had to run from the teachers and janitors, yet we still managed to sneak around and skip through the non-crowded (for a change) hallways. I don't know if anyone else will be going with Carbon and I, though. I'll have to ask her when I'm done writing.

Today was an interesting day, mostly at the second break, which is where my title comes from. You see, according to Perscocho, Dancer is holding their baby, Shaggy hostage for ransom, and she is sticking pins in him. Perscocho was really upset. "My son! My son!" he said, but I told him it was for the good of the world, because if his son is ANYTHING like him, he'll be a Wal-Mart freak, and have trouble passing the ninth grade.

Shaggy isn't real, though, it's just a son that Perscocho and Dancer made up. He's named after the singer, because one of Shaggy's concerts was the first one Dancer went to, and Perscocho likes him, too. Perscocho also came up with an odd idea, that I sort of like. He thinks we should send each other (Dancer, Carbon, himself and I) ransom notes during the summer, holding things ransom and giving each other money (I have the feeling this is just so he can actually have money). I almost want to, because I know I will be so bored over the summer I will either be bothering a friend or family memeber, or writing in here every ten minutes.

FiFi and Mr. Lambchops are talking again, he took her out for a coffee this morning. Carbon invited me to the beach on Sunday, which is going to be the highlight of my week, as I know it. Dancer, FiFi and Carbon all volunteered to clean up for my party next Thursday, which is yet another highlight. I want all my friends to write in this diary, too, because I did it on my other one, and it was really funny.

I had two exams today, Chemistry, which I didn't put much effort into because I actually started bleeding during the exam (nothing big, but I think I may have gotten blood on the exam). I had my English one, where I talked about this essay I wrote on the book Stargirl. If I can find it, I'll put it up on this diary sometime, I might try to now. Anyway, it was pretty cool, and we got out on time. It's so weird, how fast the school year went by, and how so many things have changed. Just one more year of Welfare High left, and I've been told that goes by fast.

Anyway, here's my essay:When I first began reading the book Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli, I thought that I would be able to relate to Stargirl, who was very different from the rest of her classmates at Mica High School. I've always felt like an individual in high school, like I'm different from the rest of the crowd. I thought that both Stargirl and I would be individuals shut out from the crowd. I also believed that individuals went through similar experiences. Yet, as I read this book, I realized that Stargirl's story is very different from mine.

Stargirl, who is called that because she finds her real name too normal, is very different from who I am. She comes into Mica High School, and seemingly knows everyone, giving them birthday cards and saying "Hi!" to them in the hallway. She would wear a different looking outfit constantly; with a kimono one day and a flapper dress the next. In the book, Stargirl has an affect on those around her, and gets them to love their school again. She gets everyone to love her, just by being herself.

Yet, when she cheers for the other team at a basketball event, and helps the other team's player when he gets hurt, the whole school turns against her. She is suddenly shunned for being different, rather than being celebrated for it. Her boyfriend, Leo, who is still enchanted with her despite what she's done, tries to make her become like everyone else, and it seemingly sucks the life out of her. She eventually leaves, and it seems like a dream that she was there in the first place. Yet, she teaches Leo an important lesson about first love.

When I read this book, I came to admire Stargirl, even though I'm not a thing like her. It seems like such a dream, to be able to change the way just one person thinks just by being who you are. These days, that seems impossible. It just amazed me, the way that she didn't care one bit what those around her thought, and just followed her heart regardless of what it meant in the end. While this was part of what got her in trouble, it was part of what made her a captivating character as well. Her individuality was unlike most girls in high school, including myself, who sometimes feel the need to do things or act a certain way, just to fit in. I only wish that I could have the kind of confidence that Stargirl did, to truly be herself, and to know who she was in the first place.

This book had a great deal of impact on me, because the high school in the story reminded me in many ways of the one I attend. In both schools, it seems like there is a definite line between how different you can be, before you go too far and become shunned for it. I thought that I was one of the different ones, but I realized after reading this book what different really means. It means being who you are, and not caring whether others love you or hate you, because what they think is really up to them. I think it also means knowing who you are, and it seemed like Stargirl did, while most teenagers, at least I, don't. This book made me realize how important the truly different people are in this world

I really enjoyed reading this book, and it also made me realize that everyone is different in their own way, but that some of us just don't embrace it as much as others. In the book, Stargirl's message doesn't really get through to everyone right away. Yet, in the end, everyone learns to embrace at least part of what makes them different and unique. The main point of this story seemed to be that everyone is different in some way, but that there are some who are so fazed by popular culture and those around them, that they don't see it. Yet, there are others, who don't care about any of that, and realize that they have to be who they are while they can. This book taught me that even though it seems hard, everyone has to express what makes them unique in some way or another, or else you're not really living. I enjoyed this book because, unlike most books that I've read, it celebrated and encouraged the eccentricity in everyone, not just it's main character.

That's it. I'm soo glad this year is over. I can finally sleep like a normal teen! No more getting up at five am, for three months at least! I might change the layout over the weekend, as I get better. Bye!

*Racecar*

<< Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2003@1:23 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew