I'm sorry, but I didn't get the memo

Yeah, I'm slacking on my second Dear You entry, I might just do it in here. I wanted to let everyone know what happened in Albany. Let's just say I am dead tired. I slept okay last night because I was home, but my Dad woke me up because we had to go pick up his truck at work before his chanter lesson, which was cancelled. I ended up driving my car home with this dumb girl on the spoiler of my car, even though I was doing sixty in a fourty five zone (mostly because she was making me VERY nervous). Finally she passed me, but she must've had an exhaust leak, because her windows were all open and her car stunk. I swear, if that happens to me, I'm walking EVERYWHERE, because that is just a nasty smell.

My car made it to Albany and back fine, though I'm troubled that some electrical stuff is messed up like the cruise control (my Dad uses it) and the AC button. It also doesn't get the same gas mileage as it used to. I think I need to take it to a real mechanic, someone who can actually spell Volkswagen correctly, because the people at the dealer can't. We left on Monday night and stayed in a hotel. I spent the night practicing guitar and clarinet and watching the Home Run Derby. I didn't sleep well because my Dad snores like a vaccum cleaner and I was too nervous about Monday to sleep on Sunday night.

I hated orientation. I didn't get to drink my milk at all on Tuesday, and I know this is weird, but I NEED milk. The orange juice was watered down and so was the iced tea. The food wasn't good and I can tell you I will be a stick figure unless I make a point to walk to CVS every day when I'm in college. The only good thing is the school store sells Coke so I went and bought some, because, and anyone who knows me can attest to this, I hate Pepsi with a passion. We went to all these boring things about sexual harassment and the required courses for each major.

At the end of the night (or at least the part I attended) was the comedian. He was really funny, much better than I thought he would be. He was obsessed with the microphone stand because it could bend in tons of odd directions. He also thought the room was ugly, because only half of it was lit and the drapes are the kind you see in a Southern plantation house. After that, I went to my room, half praying my roomate wouldn't be there. I practiced clarinet in the morning and so I needed to play guitar. I was really stressed about the day, so I needed to calm down and playing always does that. I thought everyone was going to bed, so I played, very quietly, for an hour.

When I went to get ready for bed, everyone was making noise and this kept on until around one in the morning. I was ticked, because I could barely hear myself, yet I could've played like I normally do and no one would care. After that, I listened to cds until my roomate came in, and I tried to sleep, but I left the light on because I knew she needed to get ready. She didn't shut off the light until an hour after she came in and I fell asleep right away when she did. I woke up at seven and they had milk at breakfast, but it was whole milk and that's about five points a glass on the Weight Watchers system. If I drank my normal amount of milk, I would drink twenty points, and that's how much I'm allowed a day.

The rest of the second day was VERY tiring. We had to listen to the technology people, who seem to share my love of Apples, the multicultral lady, who had the gall to give us a TEST at eleven in the morning about what she told us. I definately failed that, and I tried my hardest to stay awake. There were the residence life people and the discussion with a facutly memeber about social class that I fell asleep during, though I felt bad because he seemed like a nice teacher, but I hadn't had a full nights sleep in three nights. Finally, we got our schedules and met with out major teachers. I thought it was funny the way the music teacher we met told us not to expect to be the star player. As you know, I was the bottom rung in Welfare High and I don't expect to be nominated for World's Best Guitar Player anytime soon. I just want to be able to keep up with most of the other guitar players. I was amazed that I got accepted into the music program, because the music teachers there and my guitar teacher are the only ones who think I'm good that are professional guitar players themselves. Everyone else told me "You haven't been playing long enough."

I think college will be okay but I worry that I am already detached from Blake, Ginger, my Grandma and my Dad. Blake and Ginger were mad at Dad and I for leaving. Ginger was so mad she took a piss on my Dad's shirt, which I found funny, because I was telling Dad how she did that to me when she was a puppy earlier today. I also think it's funny because she's over six years old. In fact, the six year anniversary of when we bought her is on the twenty eighth of this month, the same day my Grandfather passed away (on my mother's side, and don't feel bad, because this was in 1969, so I didn't know him).

We came home last night and I played guitar, clarinet and worked out. I need to start playing guitar two hours a day instead of one, that's what the teachers at college said. So, I need to tell my guitar teacher tomorrow about it and see if he can give me more stuff to work on, or some ideas on what to work on. I definately want to start learning some Clash songs now that I know how to strum and play rhythms better. I'll write more tomorrow about the past few days, I'm going to go to bed, after I watch Aqua Teen Hunger Force. Bye!

*Racecar*

<< Thursday, Jul. 15, 2004@11:46 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew