Adventures in New York City

I'm sorry I haven't updated in a while. I was going to update last night but I was so tired from my trip to New York that I decided to get some sleep instead. I didn't wake up until almost two in the afternoon today, even though I went to bed at eleven thirty.

New York City was fun. We got off in Rockefeller Center and there was really nothing there that I didn't see when I went last year. It was around eleven thirty, so I knew that the dining area down there was really crowded and around noon it takes about twenty minutes to find seat, so I thought we could walk to a deli. We walked and walked, but we only saw a TGI Friday's and I really didn't want to go somewhere that I could go to at home. So, we ended up walking to FAO Schwarz and askinng some cops where a resturant might be. They told us to walk to Broadway, since the only things where we were are those guys with hot dogs and pretzels, two of my least favorite foods.

We went into FAO Schwarz to look around and we ate in the cafe they have there. It was nice, like an old diner but they only had ice cream. I had a sundae, which was sixteen dollars (which is stupid because I could get two at Friendly's for about five dollars) and it was quite huge, three scoops of ice cream and any toppings you wanted, though they didn't have much. I ate most of it, but it was really sweet and sickening. After that we looked around the store and they have some expensive toys. They had those toy cars, you know the ones that little kids can ride on? I remeber I had a Barbie Corvette as a kid, but I think Corvettes are ugly and it didn't enjoy grass very much at all. Anyway, they didn't even have those kinds, they had a Ferrari for kids, which ran on gas instead of those little batteries that look like regular car ones but aren't. It was a convertable too, with doors that opened and it looke like a Ferrari. While my Corvette cost about one hundred dollars, this toy Ferrari cost about one hundred thousand, which is enough to buy a bunch of real Corvettes. I just think that's crazy to spend that much money on a kid's car. Did anyone honestly want a Ferrari as a kid? I wanted a Mustang, and I still do, which is weird because it's the opposite of the car I drive and any car that I would want to drive. I can't help but want a really big powerful car with a roaring engine that's comfortable inside and cool looking. Yet I would feel too guilty driving it knowing it doesn't get nearly as good mileage as a smaller car with a smaller engine. Plus, the insurance is proably sky high. I still kind of dream about it though, in a dumb way. I even like to look at the Mustangs on the Ford dealer lot, even though I don't like the dealer. My car just looks so geeky, but a Mustang always looks so sporty and powerful, but I know I'll always drive the smallest car I can get, they're so cute in a weird way.

Anyway, we then walked to Times Square and looked in some music stores at the instruments they had. My Dad seems to like oboes, which I think is cool, because they sound really nice. It's weird how the reed is right out there though, nothing to put it onto, except your mouth. They're not cheap, either, they're ten dollars per reed, which is insane. When I get older and learn to handle clarinet reeds properly (clarinet players are meticulous about how they handle reeds, I'm not sure why), I want to play an oboe. Then, we went to the Virgin Megastore, because the booklet we got said that was one of the two cd stores in NYC and the other one carries music from Broadway plays, which I wasn't looking for. There's also an FYE in NYC, but I really didn't want to go there because I could go to the one at the mall. Anyway, I honestly wish we had a big city around here (Boston is hard to get to, you HAVE to take the T because the traffic is so bad there) that was easy to get to. I LOVED the Virgin Megastore because they had an import section, which I've never seen in a cd store before. Not only that, but their imports weren't too expensive, unless the cd was released in the US. The Japanese version of "American Idiot" is about thirty dollars there, but if it's not released in the US, it's not too expensive. I wanted to get the Ash cd "Meltdown" and it was there for only seventeen dollars, where as at Newbury, which is the only other place I've seen it, it's thirty dollars. I don't think it's going to come out in the US for another year (that's how all their cds are) and when it does I'll be pissed, because chances are it will have extra songs and sell for only eight bucks. I just couldn't wait though, and I heard their US label is bankrupt, so it might not come out for a long time. I also got Ted Leo and the Pharmacist's "Shake the Sheets" and the Weakerthans cd "Fallow", which was the only one I didn't have.

After that it started to rain so we bought two umbrellas and found a deli. I went to the MTV Store but they didn't have anything I wanted and the music (as always, it is MTV) was really annoying. We went to this deli called Maxi's and we got this really large turkey sandwich and some fries. Even my Dad couldn't finish it, it was a pound of turkey in the whole thing. It was good turkey, but there was too much of it. I also got a black and white cookie, which was good. Is it just me or do they only have those in New York City? I remeber they mentioned them on Seinfeld a bit and I always wondered what one tasted like, but they don't make them around here. Is it like that anywhere else? Or are we the only ones who don't have black and white cookies? Oh, and on the menu at FAO Schwarz, they had coffee ice cream, I couldn't believe it. I only thought that they had that in Rhode Island because we're the only ones who drink coffee milk and have coffee cabinets (it's a milkshake with coffee ice cream and coffee syrup and milk). They also had this awesome game room in the basement with all these cool games you could play and they had a big tv to watch which was playing "A Christmas Story" (sorry for the tangent). Then we went to Rockefeller Center and walked around. I got some milk at a Dunkin' Donuts and my Dad got a drink at some health food store.

We had an hour until we had to meet at Radio City Music Hall, so we looked at some stores and I got a Christmas ornament with Rockefeller Center on it. Then we put our stuff on the bus and saw the Christmas show. It was fun, but it was long and I really don't believe in Santa (how many eighteen year olds do?), so every scene involving him felt weird and kind of boring. His elves were so irritating, they had these high voices and it just was grating. It was nice to see the Rockettes doing their dancing and the sets were pretty. They had this whole song about how great snow is which was irritating, because I don't like snow because I usually have to drive in it, which is never fun. Or I have to shovel it, which always ends in me hurting my back. The last scene was a Nativity scene which was well done, except everyone took out their cameras, so it was like strobe lights everywhere.

We got home around two thirty and I went to bed around three. I woke up at eight and my Dad woke up at eight thirty because the new dryer came (ours died on Tuesday, while I was washing my socks of course). It looks just like the old one except the lint trap is in the dryer instead of on top of it, which makes it easier to get in and out and it isn't curved like the old one, but straight, which makes it easy to put in. It's smaller, but I think since it's easier to get it in and out of where it is, it makes it so you can clean it out more often. I washed my jacket today and it did a really good job of drying it, better than the old dryer. Other than that, I did very little, I just caught up on all my sleep.

I'm not sure what I'm doing tomorrow. I won't be able to write much next week, since it's the week before finals, I'll be kind of busy. Bye!
*Racecar*

<< Saturday, Dec. 11, 2004@10:31 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew