The Big Decision is....

Well, I quit my job on Wednesday, so I'm going to have to go job hunting over the weekend. I also have to go looking for a clarinet to rent out so I can learn to play and I need to go see my music teacher and see if I can take clarinet lessons there, but on a different day of course. The guy who teaches clarinet there is super nice, I used to see him after guitar lessons until my day changed from Thursday to Wednesday. I need to learn to play two other instruments proficiently, and for now I'm going to try and learn to play the piano by myself, I figure the clarinet will be easier because Dancer can help me and I already know some of it. I can't wait to go to Hyde Music and get a clarinet and a book.

I went to Albany last night and stayed at a Ramada Inn (I wouldn't recommend it, by the way). I did my audition at ten a.m. this morning, though they were a little late because they couldn't find me and I only could hear them. I sat in a practice room with Elmer, my Ovation, though I wish I had brought Nora because I'm comfortable with her. I played two songs from the book I knew the best and played some chords, though they didn't seem impressed, which sucks, because I sounded like one of those Starbucks coffee house types. They didn't even ask me to solo and I was so hyped for that. I'm worried I didn't go a good job and when I saw a young guy with an Ibanez acoustic who went after me, I knew there must be tons of others vying for the same slot. They had me play a Bach piece too and I messed up a bit.

Then, my Dad and I got some financial aid sheets and my Dad should be filling them out now, but he probably isn't. He's sending it out tomorrow, which means they will get it next week. I'm not sure where I am going to college, I wish that I knew whether I got into my major or not. I'll probably have to reaudition, but I swear that I did the best that I could and I'm glad they didn't ask me how long I had been playing for, because most of the time that means shit. If you put a book in front of Carbon and myself, I would probably be able to play it faster, or at least learn it faster than she could because I practice more than she does/did. Yet, I have only been playing for a month more than her.

After that, we went to Manhattanville College. I really liked it there, the main building was a castle, though it was a work out to get around the campus, with all the stairs you had to go up and down. The counselor there assumed I didn't know much about playing guitar, too, which kind of ticked me off. I would understand his assumption if he had heard me play, but I don't think you should judge someone unless you have heard them, at least when they are a musician. It's really expensive though, about 35,000 a year, though they did offer me a 9,000 scholarship. I'm not really sure where I'm going to go. I really love the location of Manhattanville, I love New York City so much and I probably won't be able to go there if I go to St. Rose because I won't have my car with me. This place is so close to NYC you can practically see it. I don't have much time left to choose, either. They're such nice schools, too. I think that my aunt's sister is right, that no matter where I choose I will adapt to it. I really liked Saint Rose's music department, and there was this guy there who's nephew went to Berklee and he told my Dad it's like a factory, where you don't get to really know your professors and such. I don't like that, because I'm already number 04608 at Welfare High, I don't want to become 08608 somewhere else.

Anyway, that's it for now. I still need to do some practicing on my guitar, probably Nora just so I can get used to her for when I have to go back to school Monday, though I won't need her until Tuesday. This week hasn't been as bad a I thought, though it's scary to think how close college is, because it's still so up in the air. I'm suprised I've made it this far I'm just hoping I can go the rest of the way.

*Racecar*

P.S.-Someone remind me to post a song in squareone soon. Thanks.

<< Friday, Apr. 16, 2004@9:03 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew