"Lazy Sunday" is caught in my head

Reading about the Yankees getting their ass kicked makes me happy and the Red Sox winning today was of course nice. I didn't think I would be home in time to see the game, but I was, though I slept because I was tired.

I decided to work at Target and today was my orientation. It was nice, though it started at nine. We had to watch a bunch of videos, take a tour of the store and hear some speeches on various subjects and got a schedule for the first two weeks. I'm working on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday, and I'm working at Wal Mart on all the other days, so it's going to be tough for me and I'll probably be pretty tired. It's good though because school is going to start soon and I'm going to need money for that and my car's air conditioning isn't working right, so I'll need money for that, too. I made an appointment today with Fiore, I just hope that I don't have any broken parts like the last time I brought my car their for repairs. I even threatened my car by saying I'd buy a Honda and name it Jeanine because in the movie This is Spinal Tap, Nigel obviously doesn't like her. Unfortunately, that didn't work on my car. It's going to be just like today was tomorrow, too, so I'll probably cook in my car.

Katie and I are going to my Grandma's and we're going out to eat at Box Seats, which is this sporting themed resaurant. I also finally got to seeing that "Lazy Sunday" skit from SNL and I love it, I almost want to try that Mr. Pibb and Red Vines thing, I didn't even know what Mr. Pibb was until today since it's actually not popular in the Northeast, at least not around here. It's weird though, because you can get Tab at Stop and Shop, even though I don't know anyone around here who drinks that. I'm a diehard Coke fan myself and I can tell the difference between it and any other drink. I have a can a day, but never more than that, except on Wednesday because I was so thirsty at work, but I ended up being jittery when I got home and didn't sleep well. That's another reason why I'm leaving Wal Mart, the store I work in has no air conditioning. Still, Target locks their employees in at night, which is apparently legal in RI (this state is honestly fucked up). I don't think it should be legal anywhere, it seems like they're treating workers like animals. I hate the way the jobs kids my age work always have to suck, or the way that no one really cares about the people who work in a store, as long as the prices are cheap.

It makes me think about a book I'm reading called Chew on This, because it talks about how chickens and cows live before they are slaughtered for their meat. It's honestly pretty disgusting and sad at the same time. I'm starting to think that I can't eat meat in good consience anymore, though I worry that it would be hard to find meat alternatives around where I live and work. I also worry that my friends and family wouldn't agree with my decision, I know my Dad wouldn't. I don't think I could become a vegan though, but I would like to, though I really like milk and cheese too much. Still, I think I will try to be a vegetarian and a more conscious consumer someday, it seems like the right thing to do, though I'm sure it'll be hard to get used to. Even Apple was rated low for their corporate practices, which sucks because I really don't like Windows, as anyone who reads this knows that.

I played Guitar Hero today and I'm progressing in that, which makes me happy. I'm still on the medium level, but I'm up to the Thrasher level now, with one song left to go, though the two songs I can choose from are hard, so I'm not sure if I'll get through that level for a while. I'm suprised at how good I'm doing though, since I don't get to play often and it's harder to play power chords on the controller than it is on a real guitar, at least for me. I want to put some pictures of my real guitars up on here and I'm thinking of getting a new practice amp because my Fender Frontman is in amp heaven, I think, though I'm going to have my Dad check it out. I'm suprised it died because it was only two years old and I heard that Fender makes good amps, though I know my Crate that I'm using now is better. I mostly play my Gibson ES137 lately, though I like my American Fat Strat as well. They're both very pretty though the Strat looks nicer, but I like both of them in different ways. I've been praciticing good lately, getting in about three hours a day and understanding what my guitar teacher has been trying to show me. I really like the fingerpicking, it sound so pretty, though I have a hard time coordianting my thumb with my fingers, I'm not sure why. My teacher says it's because I've only been doing fingerpicking for two months, but I've always been hard on myself. I honestly want to be an amazing female guitar player because there aren't many for girls my age (or any age really) to look up to, and it sucks.

I'm finally down to a size six in jeans, but I'm not sure if that's where I want to be. I think I should lose about ten or twenty more pounds. I didn't even think I was losing weight, nor do I know how I'm doing it. I really would like to go for a walk tomorrow, though I might go with Blake on Monday if I have the energy, or tomorrow with my Grandma and Katie if it's not too hot out, though it's supposed to be. I would like to be at a size where I can buy the regular length jeans that they sell in all stores, that way I can buy cheaper jeans because I honestly can't tell the difference between the ones at Express and the ones at Macy's, though I hate the fit of Old Navy jeans. I bought some on Thursday and one pair was uncomfortable at the crotch, which the other, which was smaller, is huge at the thighs and it just baggy except for the waist. I want jeans that hug my curves, I guess I can't get that at Old Navy, though their jeans are so cheap, it sucks to have to have expensive stuff. I wish I could just make my own jeans to my own specifications. I feel like my body shape is odd because no pair of jeans has fit me the way I want to fit them and I've bought them almost everywhere. My favorite was the Gap jeans, but they are more expensive than Express jeans, as if that was even possible. I'm going to go to bed now and dream about making my own jeans. Good night.
*Racecar*

<< Sunday, Jul. 30, 2006@12:43 a.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew