Singin' siren songs

Sorry I haven't updated in forever. I'm sitting in the back of class right now. It's been a long day, but it was actually pretty cool, better than I expected mostly, but there is still a ton of work I have to do. Still, with each passing day I feel like I actually am not that far from graduating and like this could really happen. I hope that things are going to continue to go okay.

There have been many times this week that I have wavered in my belief in myself. It's hard for me to organize musicians and then it doesn't help that I still have work to do for other classes and work to do at work (of course). I'm trying to get ahead in all of my stuff so that if something unexpected happens I will be able to deal with it without having to worry about not having all my work done.

I'm thinking of going out with Nad and his friends tomorrow night, but I promised myself I wouldn't do it unless I had a decent amount of work done. If I didn't, I wouldn't be able to go. The way things stand, I should have most of my work done for school and so I'm going to go, but not stay out all night with them like I usually do. We just hang out at Denny's usually, but the last time we went to Wal Mart nearby and were out until 4 am. It was very fun, and over the summer I hope to do it more often as a kind of last hurrah to my college years.

Honestly, I haven't done much of the traditional college stuff. I haven't had any alcohol or anything like that, or even gone to many parties.

Anyway, I want to write more about today and how fun it was. First off, I got to school at nine instead of the usual eleven. I rehearsed with a few people and managed to get about five minutes of tape to show at my jury Monday. I'm going to record about five minutes more tomorrow, then about ten minutes more on Sunday. I should be able to record yet another ten minutes on Monday and try and meet with a piano player that the piano teacher helped me with. That made me happy, because I e-mailed the piano teacher last week and he hadn't gotten back to me, so I didn't think he had gotten my e-mail. He's going to give me the student's e-mail in an e-mail, so I should be able to get in touch with him soon, I hope. I'm just glad to have a piano player, because that basically means I can write up my program to send out to the woman who does the programs for concerts. I actually need to get that done for Monday, but I've already started on it.

I'm typing like a mad woman on here, the teacher must think I'm some kind of crazy. Anyway, three people showed up to rehearsal and the scores weren't that bad. It was fun to hear them play, and I even made them all laugh when I told them that I was laughing at recording them. You see, one of the saxophone players was sitting in the middle, and he didn't have to play much in one movement. He also happened to be sitting in the corner, and was looking down at his computer with the music on it. So, I had to pan to the flute and other saxophone player, but had to go by him to do that. He looked like he was being punished, sitting in the corner with his head down. I told them that, and they all laughed. It was nice.

Then I went to my guitar lesson and talked to my teacher a bit. I like how I can tell him anything. He's super thorough, more so than any guitar teacher I've had. But he told me I am getting better, and that even the other guitar players have noticed. That felt really good, and I'm going to play a piece I like called "Spanish Romance". It's so cool that I get to pick out a piece myself and actually play it in front of others.

After that, I skipped Music Convocation (I'm only going to do that today, I can miss at least one other Convocation though). I'll update this when I get home in an hour or so.-Kate

<< Thursday, Feb. 04, 2010@6:02 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew