I need poetry help, not to mention all the other kinds of help I need

I'm sorry that I haven't written, I just haven't been in the mood. I haven't been feeling too bad or anything, I've just been lazy. New Year's was boring, I stayed home and watched some shows, and then watched the ball drop in HD, which was cool. I don't know why I didn't do it last year. I think that this year will be good, though last year really wasn't that bad. I mean, I grew up a bit, I got a job. Yeah, I lost my cat, and school isn't going the exact way I want it to. But, at least I am finally in school, and my teachers seem to be coming around on my abilities. That's why I've decided to do some work during the semester break so that when school starts again later this month, I won't get so overwhelmed.

My composition is the big thing I need to work on. My teacher last semester (who won't be this coming semester due to budget cuts) suggested that I write an art song for this semester. I've decided to do it, to write a song with a guitar accompaniment, but I need a poem to set to music first. I could use someone else's poem, but I would rather use my own. So, I've decided that I am going to write a poem everyday for a week, to see if I can come up with something good. I have some poems already written as well, I'll post one that I wrote not long ago up in this entry as well.

I want to pick a good poem, so if anyone has any that are already written, that would be cool, too. I'll give you credit if it's yours, and if there are any that you've read (though I'd prefer it if the author was dead, if not, I'd have to ask for their permission to use it, and that could take a while to get) let me know.

This first poem I wrote sometime last week, I think it was before Christmas. It might need some touching up (if anyone has any specific ideas of where, that'd be cool). Let me know what you think of it, if it's any good or worth fixing, if it's too bad or needs too much, I won't bother.
"Saturn's Test" (That might be a working title).
Eyes that burn like lasers
Strong, unyielding arms
Hiding beneath the Earth tonight
With heartbreaking fear

I'll break beneath the cold, hard ground
Let the light shine on your head again
The shining eyes, the warm heart
The sighs in your chest
I need to see you

The robot of a buried past
Forgotten with the times
You want to go on
But you can't run for long

I want you
I want to fall into your arms,
Make them bend beneath my weight
Let me shoulder the burdens of your heart
If you'll do the same for me

Let's find the heart
To these unending days
Break the cycles of pain
And feel whole again

All we need is now
All we need is each other
Give me your hand,
I'll give you my heart

Off into the sunset we'll ride
Burning a new trail in the Earth
Risking everything
For a chance to fill our empty souls

I'll know that I was right
When you find me on that night
Hunched over in my pain
Break my heart open
So we can both live again

Here is the other one, which I wrote just a while ago, as part of my seven poems thing. It doesn't have a title, yet.
The blackbirds sing
To the roaring wind
While green eyes look up
At a bright blue sky

A heart that pounds
Like a war drum
The blood shaking
Inside the warm body

The darkness comes
When you least expect it
Engulfing you
In a dark landscape

You try to run
To suddenly change
But you can't
Because night always falls

The safe lie
Of a white sheet
Wrapped around you tight
You can cover it all you want, it's still there

The icicles freeze
Along with your favorite memories
You're not that person now
If you ever were

So you fight those battles
You can't win
Just to begin to hide
From the things you won't mention

Maybe that other world
Will bring you the solace you need
But maybe you're really
Just running from your dreams.

Let me know what you think, I would really appreciate any help anyone can give me. I figure I can find a poem in the next week or so, or write one. Then, I can start setting it and maybe have that part done (or mostly done) in time for school, so all I have to do is work on an arrangement, which will be guitar, and which I will most likely play, so I can be more involved in the process of my music. I'll write more later! Bye!-*Racecar*


<< Saturday, Jan. 03, 2009@9:56 a.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew