Don't hug any black sheep!

Today was okay, it was the first Friday I've had off in three weeks. Next Friday I finally get my tooth fixed so I don't have to worry about the whole in the back. The Red Sox won, which I didn't honestly expect to happen after the seventh and eighth innings. I worry that their pitchers aren't very good and by the playoffs they will have all fallen apart. I guess we'll see. I really don't want to work tomorrow, but I've always hated Saturdays. I am having a problem, I just want to listen to ska and it makes me feel a little weird considering it isn't even popular anymore and the bands that made it popular aren't really around, although a few of them are still around, but just aren't popular. Why do I always have to like music that isn't popular? Does anyone else ever feel that way? Even tv shows I like, very few people I know like the shows I do. I got mad at my Dad last night because the phone wasn't working, we had to turn off the answering machine because it was screwing up the phone and making it busy so no one could call us. I'm glad it was that, but it really made me wish I could move out. It seems like this house is falling apart and my Dad and I can't do much about it. I'm feeling really depressed lately, even though today was good, I had a really hard time going to bed last night.
It looks like I'm starting to understand what is going on with my car. You see, it has been making some jingling noises and it turns out when my Dad changed the brake pads last year, he forgot to put the clips on to keep them from jingling, so it wasn't and isn't just my loose exhaust pipe. My new exhaust system came yesterday, and I think it may have solved the rotor problem as well, since the people who make the exhaust system make after market parts for my car. New rotors for my car would cost a little over a hundred dollars for my car, that's all four of them, mind you. Dad wants to go to Speedcraft this Thursday to see if they have VW rotors in stock (he doesn't think Fiore will, and who could blame him). Anyway, if they have the same price or better, my Dad will buy them there. On Wednesday, he is taking my car to Ray Stewart's to get an estimate on the front driver's side being realigned. So, it looks like my car will be in decent shape by the time school starts, or at least will be in the process of being fixed. I know the new exhaust will be on by then, in fact, my Dad wants me to put it on! If I had a video camera, I'm sure I'd make a tape to put up here of me trying to figure out my car. I know I could get the old exhaust system out without a problem, it's already halfway off (again), but I don't know how to do anything else. I don't think my Dad will really make me do it, I think he just wants me to help him out, but I wouldn't mind learning how to do it, because I'm weird like that. I really want to learn about cars and how to fix them so I won't get screwed over when I decide I want a new one. Does anyone else feel that way? I'm just glad to know that my Dad refuses to let me drive an unsafe car and that he is doing everything he can to make sure my car is safe and running well.

The list that came with the exhuast was so small my Dad had to use a magnifying glass to read the print. The cars on the brochure looked ugly, too. They all had body kits on them with skirts and all. I could tell they were VWs, but only by the shape, at least the Golf I recognized. I could never do that to any car, I think skirts are ugly and so are body kits. What is the purpose of driving a brand of car and not having it look like that brand of car? I mean, why would you cover up the Ford logo on a Mustang? Why would you cover up the Toyota logo on a Camry? I just think that's part of what the car is, I think paints are cool, but I don't like changing the grills, except for the Chevy ones and the new VW ones look kind of stupid, but I'd keep them, too.

Today I went to my lesson and I am doing good. It was funny because my teacher said that the main professor of the music department must look down on normal things people like to do, like watching football, making it seem like it's stupid when you could listen to classical music. It just reminded me of the day after the Super Bowl, how the Professor had her Patriots shirt from 2004 on (you couldn't get a 2005 at ten in the morning). I remember she was all proud of it, too and she thought the game was the coolest. I think everyone around here likes the Patriots, probably even more than the Red Sox, depending on where you are. I honestly think it's because the Patriots are really good, while the Red Sox have tons of ups and downs, like now. My lesson was good, though adn I'm learning minor arpeggios for my improvising, which I still don't like to do. I like to hear other people do it, but my improvising is just never creative enough for me. I feel like there is so much I should do when I improvise and it is hard for me to think of so many rules and then try to come up with my own melody, and even throw in a chord here and there. I don't know if anyone who reads this has tried it, but you should, you'll see what I mean.

I then went to the mall and it was fun. I went by myself and got two shirts at Filene's, since I got my Filene's card today. It honestly sucks because Filene's is going to be closing by the end of the year. I am really going to miss that place, I don't know if anyone outside of NE has been there. It's being bought up by the people who own Macy's and they obviously don't want to compete with themselves. I think Filene's is better, because if you have ever been to a Macy's, their junior department is mostly jeans and expensive clothes like Tommy Hilfiger stuff and none of it is that good looking. I can find better fitting jeans at Express. I went there, too and I'm going back on Wednesday because the stuff they have is just awesome. I really love their jeans and they had some cool looking shirts there, too. I just didn't know if I had enough money to buy the things I wanted, so I'm going to go with my Dad. I went to Wet Seal and bought two shirts there. They are finally starting to get in some nice stuff, instead of all those fad shirts they had that I hate. They still have some of those, but their new shirts are nice. The only thing I hate about them is that their salespeople where their nametags wherever they want, and it's hard to tell who works there and who doesn't. I don't know if anyone else has that problem when they go there. Either way, I got another Seal Deal card. I also went to CVS and got a new Casio calculator because the two calculators that I had died, including one that died in my car. My car seems to kill everything I put in there, just becuase it gets so hot in there. I had to turn on the AC, even though it was only eighty degrees out and didn't feel that hot.

I tried to call Carbon but she won't answer my calls. I don't leave messages because I know she has caller id and I know she has my number. I don't know why she isn't calling me back, I looked when I went by her house and her driveway was empty. I kind of feel like there are times when she wants to be my friend and times when she doesn't. I'm going to go to bed now, and I'll write more on Sunday night, because I'm really kind of tired and I need to go to bed soon. Good night.
*Racecar*

<< Friday, Aug. 26, 2005@10:41 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew