Why yes, I am still alive!

Yeah, I know, it's been a week since I last updated. Not much is going on, really. Monday and Tuesday were both tiring school days, and on Tuesday I drove to school and got there at the same time as my school bus does. I'll tell you one thing: it sucks to constantly have the need to be early. I was ready to go out the door at six thirty, mostly because I was worried I would run into traffic. Yet, that Jetta is going to save my life after December 3rd, which is coming up fast. I feel like it's my Christmas, because I know I won't be getting much then anyway. I don't want anything, other than to be able to drive, have a job and not be home alone on weekends. Oh, and not to run into Perscocho on the road, because he'll be a pretty bad driver! :)

I had to get my lovely electric guitar, Sheryl, fixed. Turns out I did violate the shitty Gibson warranty, which somehow takes precedence over the Guitar Center one, because the guitar has a few dents on it. I carried the damn thing around to school! What did you think would happen to it? I'm only human, I'm sure every musician out there has a dent or two on their guitar, why should that violate both warranties? So, I went to Ross Music Store near the airport, and the first thing that happens is the owner of the store, Mr. Ross, walks up to me. I tell him my problem, and this is what he says:

"Did you buy this at GC (Guitar Center)? We don't sell these kind of guitars here."

"Yes." (that would be me)

"Well, you violated the warranty. See this dent, you didn't buy it with this dent, that violates the warranty." (he pointed to a dent that is on Sheryl's head, it's more of a scrape to the wood, the paint there is still on, so it's not that bad.)

"We can fix the guitar, but you have to pay for it."

I don't know why, but this got me really mad. I can't explain how I felt, really. I felt horribly guilty for messing up my guitar, the only good one I have (not that Stuart's a bad guitar, he just smells like glue). I was really mad at myself, and I was also mad at Mr. Ross for assuming my guitar wasn't good enough for his store, even though he's the only Gibson authorized dealer in the state. So, I ran out of his tiny store, crying and vowed never to buy another Gibson again.

My Dad was still in there, and another guy who was there the whole time and worked at the store, offered to fix the guitar right then and there. It took him quite a while, and I was almost late to my guitar lesson, during which my guitar teacher (who's in his thirties) told me Mr. Ross was mean to him when he was my age. It cost $84 to replace all the tuning keys on the guitar, but it looks really nice now, almost classy. It also doesn't look like any other Gibson Melody Maker that I've seen. It's also been in tune for the past three days, so I'm pretty happy with it.

Thanksgiving was okay, I didn't really eat much, except chocolate. I went to both my aunts, the one on my mother's side and father's side. I also think that Christmas Eve might be a suprising night, because my aunt's sister (who usually gets me a ton of clothes for Christmas) was insistent that I go to the Christmas Eve party she's having. I'm not sure though, but all I can look forward to now is December 3rd.

I hung out with Carbon both Friday and yesterday. I spent all day Friday playing Sheryl, and I sounded really good, even Carbon said so. I can't believe that I've been playing for over a year now, it's the longest time I've ever played any instrument. On Saturday, Carbon and I watched Dogma and I replaced my Coldplay cds at Wal-Mart, though Chip rang them up, he was actually civil towards me. I was quite suprised, to say the least.

Today, I slept and did my homework. I still have some stuff to do and I'm bidding in an auction on Neopets. I'll write more, probably Wednesday, since I'm not going to school that day. This Thanksgiving vacation was a nice break, and much better than I thought it would be. Bye.

*Racecar*

<< Sunday, Nov. 30, 2003@9:06 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew