Be a square!

Yay! I tried to write last night but it wouldn't let me, so I updated my other diary instead. The address to it isn't in the layout anymore, so if anyone wants it, let me know. It has some really old stuff that I wrote back when I had AOL and could only go on at four in the morning, because my Mom got ticked at me for hogging the phone line.

I've been going to classes and stuff these past few days. There is this gorgeous guy in my Western Civilization class, he has the prettiest brown eyes, I have to admit that I accidentally locked eyes with his twice. I'm afraid to go near him, though and he talks a good amount in class, so I think most of the other girls have looked over at him when he talks and they probably think he's cute, too. I hate that, because I'm not that amazing looking compared to most girls, because I look like a zombie from hours at the computer, tv and books and I despise tanning booths. I also will not go out in the sun without sunscreen, because the last time I got burned on a good amount of my skin and the skin got all weird afterward. I don't wear make up and I don't do my hair because it doesn't seem to ever want to look good when I try to do stuff with it. It looks weird when other people do it, too. I always end up looking like a member of an '80's hair metal group and so I don't try to do much with my hair.

I've been practicing my sight singing lately, because I'm not singing very well in my sight singing class. I talked to the teacher and I'll probably need to get help from her once a week. I feel bad, because my range is really small and I can't always hit the pitches just right. So, I've been practicing every night for about forty minutes with my guitar so I can hear the pitch, but it's an octave lower than the piano, so I'm not sure if it's helping my range. I think the more I practice at singing the better my range will get. I can't sing very loud, either and I'm not sure if I'm getting any better with that. I have to talk to the teacher after class on Tuesday. It's weird, because she can hear me when I sing in class, but I can't, mostly because there's so many people near me who are trained singers and I would rather hear them sing than me.

I went to a family reunion type thing today, but it was really boring and I sat and did my history homework the whole time. My Dad's side of the family is kind of boring and they're all either older than me by ten or fifteen years, or younger than me by ten or fifteen years. So, there's no one there to talk to, though my Dad did talk to his younger brother, whom we never ever see. I also saw my cousin, who's the only one close to my age, but even he is younger and he was homeschooled, so it's not like I can ask him how school is or anything. I don't think he's going to college either. He doesn't drive or do much of anything, except play with his younger cousin, who's ten years younger than he is. I was just really glad to leave, mostly because I wanted to do my nightly routine so I could get to bed at a decent time, but that went down the drain.

My guitar teacher that CCRI assigned me quit and left me and three other people without a teacher. I just got a call today from the new guy though, and he was really nice. I talked to him about how long I've been playing and he told me where he teaches and stuff. It was longer than all the other conversations I had with the first guy combined and I have a much better idea of when I'll be taking lessons. It looks like I'll be taking lessons with this guy on Fridays and it's about a forty minute drive to where he teaches lessons but I think that things will actually work out. I'm really glad that I'll actually get to start lessons soon, and he uses the same book that I've been using with my old teacher.

I also audtioned for Jazz Ensemble, though the guy wasn't very nice. He's not nice to anybody and no one knows why. He thinks that no matter what is going on, you HAVE to go to Jazz Ensemble and if you don't do good, he'll yell at you, he even yelled at the head of the music department because she wasn't good at playing jazz piano because she played classical. Basically, this guy is rude and doesn't care about it. I can't honestly understand why anyone would be mean to their boss though, he even made her cry. Still, he's supposed to be a great teacher and I really need the experience. I like the sound of jazz music and I'm going to try and get some jazz cds soon, if anyone has any recomendations, let me know. I really hope I get in, bccause I kind of need to learn to deal with insulting people like this teacher and I think it would be really fun. I have the time and energy to dedicate myself to this and I know that I can really grow as a musician, it's just up to him and I won't know until Monday.

I went to Strawberries today and there were so many people there because they had a used cd sale this weekend only and they were 20% off, which is why I went. They had a booth outside, but this lady had a baby with really smelly diapers and I just couldn't stand it so I went inside. I got six cds one by the Burning Brides, two by The Coral, one Bruce Springsteen cd, a Hot Hot Heat cd and a Pete Yorn cd. I'm starting to realize that I've replaced most of the cds from the last collection that I really liked and I think the case itself will be at the old one's size by the end of the year. I'm going to get ready to go to bed now. I'll write more later.

*Racecar*

<< Sunday, Sept. 12, 2004@12:06 a.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew