Five and a half is my favorite number

Yesterday was really fun. I woke up at eight and we went to my Grandma's at nine. I got pancakes at a resturant nearby and my Dad called to let me know he was in the parking lot right after we were done eating. We went to the train station and got on a train around noon and we were in Boston around one. We found a Subway to eat at around almost two and we left there around three. I went to Barnes and Noble and Borders looking for a book, but there isn't anything on the ES 137 in a guitar book yet, because, and I learned this yesterday, they just started making it in 2002.

Then we went to the market area and got some ice cream. Then, it was around four, so we started to walk to Fenway Park. Mind you, my Dad did not know where he was going and we asked a cop who we saw after we walked by Mass General Hospital. He told us Fenway was far away but that we had time, and pointed us in a direction. We ended up walking for about twenty more minutes when my Dad asked a woman and she told us it was far away and that we should take the train. Luckily, my Dad took her advice, and it was hard to find the right train to get on, but once we did, it was nice. It's hot as hell waiting for a train because there's no air circulation down there, but the trains are fast and air conditioned, and we were at Fenway around five.

We got there and realized out aisle seats were actually at the beginning of the aisle, against the wall. My Dad and I were two rows apart and we got up to eat early because the only thing we could see were the Rangers getting warmed up. I got a burger, some fries and a water for ten dollars, and believe me, the food sucked. I think when I go again I'll get the nachos and Dad got a hot dog, which he said was good.

The game started at seven, and the first three innings were boring. In the top of the fourth, the Rangers got a run, which worried me a bit, but then the Red Sox got five in the bottom of the fourth, and two more in the fifth. I thought things were okay after that. Kenny Rodgers was out of the game by the fifth inning, and nothing happened until about the eighth, when all hell broke loose. First, they still had Bronson Arroyo out, which was stupid because he had pitched seven innings and he was tired. He hit two batters and gave up a run. Then, they had two other pitchers come up, and they gave up three more runs, so it was five to seven. During the whole pitching change Manny went into the wall and left the door open, which he doesn't usually do. Needless to say, he was gone after that inning, possibly because of what happened after, but partly because most people around here think it is rude to leave the field in the middle of an inning, but Manny's done that tons of times.

The Rangers pitchers didn't do very good at all in the bottom of the eighth. They changed pitchers twice, and while this was going on, you could see Curt Schilling warming up, which was cool. The second pitcher kept loading the bases and walking people. No one got home runs, but there were a ton of hits and eleven batters came up during the inning. When it was finally over around ten, the scored was sixteen to five, meaning the Red Sox got nine runs in one inning, which I honestly didn't think was going to happen, but it was definately cool to see. I only saw one home run by Manny, though I think Gabe Kapler got one too, but they only counted it as a double because the ball bounced back in off the wall. The ninth inning ended pretty quick and we got onto the train, with about a few thousand other people.

Fenway is a really cool park. We sat in the bleachers under the scoreboard, so we didn't know how the Yankees game went until we came home. It looks like it does on tv, though it's very small compared to the other ball parks. I was watching the Braves game a bit and their stadium is so big it makes Fenway look like a kiddy park. I think it's nice though because it's not so disorienting and it's much more old fashioned looking than other parks. I think my Dad took some pictures of the place, so if I ever can get them onto my computer, I'll put them up. If you see one of the games on tv, you'll get a good idea of what the place looks like. I really liked going there, and there was nice breeze up in the bleacher seats that made it not too cold or too hot.

We didn't get home until around two in the morning and I couldn't sleep right away so I was online for a bit. Dad said he is going to try and get some more Red Sox tickets for next summer, when they go on sale instead of after market, because they're expensive the way we got them. Our tickets said ten dollars on them, but they were more like fifty.

I didn't do much today. I went to my guitar lesson and realized what a mess my room is. I think I'm going to have to clean it soon because I can't find anything, not even some of my shoes. I didn't end up going to Carbon's sister's house for dinner, but I probably will go on Tuesday or next Thursday if she's not working. I'm going to call her Sunday when I get home from work. Her sister is gone for about a week and a half more, so she has a good amount of time to cook the turkey. She had to send her sister some money today because I guess she ran out since her car broke before they left. I feel bad for Carbon and her family because it seems like they have been having some bad luck lately. I also feel bad that I haven't gone over to Carbon's sister's house to hang out with her, because I can imagine it's lonely over there. I'm going to ask her if I can stay over there sometime next week.

Anyway, I have to get up early tomorrow to give my scholarship money to CCRI. I want to pay my bill right away so it gets done. I also have to work and I'm getting a bit pissed with my Department Manager because of the schedule that she puts me on, giving me thirty plus hours even though I told her I don't like working that much. I just don't understand why no one there listens to me. I have a ton of stuff to do before summer ends and the end seems to be coming too soon. I'm not looking forward to next semester. Even though my teacher says I'll do good, I'm just not sure. Does anyone else feel that way? Goodnight!
*Racecar*
P.S.-I don't know if anyone has seen this week's Reno 911!, but I think it's hilarious. I just think that because it's on as I'm writing this.

<< Thursday, Aug. 11, 2005@10:24 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew