A Tale of Two Blakes

I tried to write last night but it was late and I got one of those "the servers are busy" pages. I'm still going to try and get a gold membership, but I think that's going to have to wait until I get a job. I'm thinking of going to the school and seeing if I can get one there. I really would like to be a montior at the Mac Labs there, because I could do my homework for my English class (I'm sure I'll be doing a good amount of writing) and I can save it in my e-mail. All the while I can work and actually work with something I like, Macs. I know this is stupid, but one of the highlights of my day was finding out that Apple is coming out with a $499 computer. That means that when we do decide to get a computer to replace the Gateway (which probably won't be for at least another year or two), we will actually have the option of getting an Apple. I really like them because they have a better OS (I haven't gotten a virus yet, if I had a PC, I probably would have about three by now) and they have better sound and video cards. Did I ever mention the speakers on the Gateway died? I had to unplug them because only one was working and it was just too irritating to have only one speaker making noise.

Anyway, I took Blake to the vet today. I swear that today (or yesterday, too) was the day of bad news involving people and animals named Blake. The first thing the vet did was weigh him, and he weighed in a fifty pounds. I'm not sure how much he is supposed to weigh, but I'm guessing about forty or thirty five pounds. Yeah, that's not good for a dog. I felt really guilt and the vet kind of lectured me and it's worse because Blake is a sheltie and the vet loves shelties. There's a picture in his office of his beloved sheltie, I forget what her name is, but she's really cute. Her face is even darker than Blake's is. Blake got his distemper shot and when I got home, I tried to run him around all over the backyard, but all he wanted was to go inside. I moved the garbage into my bathroom (I know it sounds gross, but there's nowhere else to put it). I'm going to either put it in the computer room or downstairs when I take baths, and other than that, I'm rarely in there for more than a few minutes. Even if I wore makeup, I have a makeup mirror in my bedroom, so I usually put on makeup in there. I also think Blake is going to need to get his first fur cut (I don't know what you call getting groomed when you're talking about dogs). Ginger goes to one, so I'm thinking Blake can go there, too. It's just to get the mats out of his fur, because he seems to have a good amount of that. I have to talk to Dad about most of this and get everything figured out. I'm hoping to get Blake to lose at least five pounds by the time he has to go to the vet again in April. Does that sound like too much? I would like it if he lost the whole ten that's he overweight by. I thought it was funny how the vet thought he was only one and a half. We've had him for two years now, so he can't be that young. He's about two and three months, or maybe it's four. I think he'll be two and a half at the end of April, since his birthday is September 27th.

I was kind of bummed out last night to find out that one of my favorite bands, Jets to Brazil, broke up. I think they've been broken up for a while now, because I hadn't heard anything about them making a fouth album or anything, but it still bothers me. I had hoped that maybe they were taking some kind of break, because some bands do that every now and then. I can name a few off the top of my head who have had big or decent sized gaps between albums, I'm sure everyone can think of at least one or two. I guess I was just being stupid about the whole thing. I really wanted to see them live because I never got to and I really like Jawbreaker, too, but I never will see them live because they broke up when I was ten. If you're wondering how they're related (since anyone who reads this might not know about either band), they both had the same lead singer, and that's who I named my dog after. I know that sounds stupid, but I was just really depressed after my Mom died and just being alone all of the sudden really made me feel worse. I kind of didn't understand what had happened exactly. All I knew was that I could really relate to "Perfecting Lonliness" and it is still one of my favorite cds. I'm sorry if this whole paragraph was kind of stupid or meaningless, but I just felt like writing it because I felt really bummed out hearing it. I really hope he still makes music though, because his lyrics were always so well written, if you look at any of the Jawbreaker or Jets to Brazil songs in squareone, maybe you'll see what I mean.

I haven't done much else. I've been really tired and I'm thinking of trying to go to bed earlier. I have to go to the school tomorrow and get my books, tell them I want to accept all the scholarships they offered me (it was only a Pell Grant) and beg for a job there. I hate the way they ask you to accept scholarships, it's so stupid, like you wouldn't accept money for school, which you can't afford to pay for yourself. Doesn't it seem stupid? I have to go play guitar now, so I'll write more later, probably tomorrow. Bye!
*Racecar*

<< Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005@5:57 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew