Is your refrigerator walking?

I don't know why, but every Saturday when I want to sleep in, I end up waking up early instead, doing some stuff and then going back to bed. That's exactly what I am going to do today. I'll probabbly read my Western Civ book, watch tv a bit and then go back to bed. I have been really tired lately and I think that I have been stressed out, too, because I have pimples all over my forehead now and they weren't there at all during the summer. I'm not sure what to do about it because I look like craters have hit all over my face. I'm going to try and get some of those face strips to put on my head. I think getting some sleep might be good, too, because my brain just hasn't been working right lately.

I'm really worried about school in general. I haven't made any friends, but it seems so hard to do that because we don't get time to talk in class very much, even though there are some people in my classes I wouldn't mind talking to. I seem to have trouble listening to music and hearing the notes and chords that people are playing. My guitar teacher noticed that yesterday, he asked me to bring a cd that I was listening to on the way there to him so that we could listen to it and learn how to play it. I honestly didn't know what to bring, because he's a jazz guitar player and I don't have many jazz cds at all, or any, really. I'm not sure what ones are really good and what ones aren't. Of course, I went to my car and remembered I had put my entire cd case in the trunk. I went through various cds for a few minutes and just grabbed a Clash cd, because I wanted something he would know (I almost picked my Ash cd, but they're obviously not popular in this country.) and that wasn't too easy, because I was really listening to Green Day on the way over, but that's mostly power chords and most musicians don't like power chords. I brought it in and we listened to "London Calling", but I honestly couldn't figure out the chords or notes the guitar and bass player were playing during the song. He tried to get me to hum along with him, but I couldn't match his pitch. It really worried me, and still does, that I have such a hard time matching pitch. Earlier in the day, I was singing (or trying to) with the Sight Singing teacher and she was playing the piano to see if I could match the pitch she was playing. I couldn't even then, it wasn't until I started playing the piano that I started matching every pitch I played, though the higher ones took some work. I feel like I'm not a good musician because of it. My guitar teacher told me to sing along when I played, but I honestly have no idea how to do that, because I can't do solfege every time I play a song, because most of the songs go all over the place and I play them faster than I can ever sing them.

I went to guitar lessons at around tweleve thirty and I got to Wakefield by one. I can honestly say that it's kind of nice there. The store where I go for lessons has so many books, not just guitar method books, but jazz books and blues books. They have the popular stuff, too, like the books that teach you how to play like popular rock bands, but it's nice to see other stuff, too. I went to the Wakefield Mall, which is really just a giant wasteland. There's a Fashion Bug, a Walden Books, a Payless, a GNC (it seems like there is one of those in every deserted mall) and an FYE, which had very few cds for some reason. They also had a candy shop and I bought four lollipops there, because they had Linda's Lollies, which are my favorite kind, but they don't sell them around here very much anymore. I really like lollipops, there's other kinds I like too, but they don't sell many varieties around here, it's mostly just the Tootsie Pops and all that kind of stuff. I might go there every week that I go to my lessons and get some lollipops, I also wanted to try the chocolate they have, but I'll be going there for about thirteen more weeks, so I should be able to. They also have tons of Volkswagens down there, because there's a dealer down there called Speedcraft, which has to be the dumbest name for a dealership ever. I heard their service is awful, but they have some really nice cars out there and every parking lot I parked it had at least three Volkswagens, not counting mine. The air smells like salt all around there, too, it's really nice because I'm not used to being so close to the beach. Everyone around there is really agressive when it comes to driving though, they just toss their cars out in the middle of lanes until someone in the other lane lets them go. I don't think I could ever do that, I'd be too afraid of getting hit.

My Dad has already told me what I am getting for my birthday, which I hate because I really wanted to be suprised. I'm getting a tv, and I think he wants me to pick it out. I know I'm going to end up going to Circuit City because they have the most twenty inch tvs and they have some good prices, the tvs at Best Buy were the same, but they were all twenty to forty dollars more. It stinks that people like big tvs, because I don't and so it's hard to find them when I need one, because they don't sell. I'm not sure what I'm getting, because it depends on what they have when I go, but I'm thinking of getting a Philips or a Samsung, though I liked the Samsung better becasue it had bigger speakers, even though I always watch the tv with the mute on.

Not much else is going on. I want to try and get all of my homework done today because I should go and visit my Grandma tomorrow. I really hope it's nice out tomorrow, because I could use a long walk and I want to see the Red Sox and the Yankees play (on tv of course). I want to go to a Red Sox game someday, but my Dad is very cheap and he thinks it would be too expensive. I think I'll eventually get him to go with me someday. I have to visit my Grandma tomorrow because she had surgery on Wednesday and they found cancer in her throat, though they did take it all out. It seems like it runs in my Mom's side of the family, which scares me, though my Dad says that I inherited my Grandma's (on his side) genes, mostly because I look like her. Still, she died of Alzheimer's so it's kind of scary. I want to bring my Grandma some stuff to cheer her up, so I'm not sure what to get, but I think I'll probably get her a magazine or a book and some chili, because she really likes chili. Sorry if this entry sounds depressing. I'm not really depressed too much right now, just kind of half awake. I also noticed a strange thing about AIM. Is it just me, or do people only go on AIM to put up away messages? There's about ten people on my buddy list who are online right now, and only me and one other person are not away. Is that the cool thing to do now? Like owning a small dog? I don't understand why people would want small dogs, because Ginger is small, and she bit me yesterday for trying to hug her and then she pooped all over the living room and whined when I put her in her cage for doing so. It seems like little dogs are so rude. I honestly think that she is just a cat in a dog's body. I'll write more later.

*Racecar*

<< Saturday, Sept. 18, 2004@10:51 a.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew