Should I be an ethical consumer?

I didn't write last night because I was being lazy. Tonight I feel more active so I'm going to write and then do some reading before I go to bed. I was a bit bummed yesterday because they stopped making the shampoo that I've been using for the last eight years. It's Back to Basics Sunflower shampoo and conditioner, but Back to Basics is redoing their whole line, so they got rid of some stuff and changed their pacakging. I went to the salon at my Dad's work and got a new shampoo and conditioner called Curl Up made by KMS. I haven't tried it yet, but I figure it will be good. I wanted to go to the salon to get it because my Dad gets it at a discount, so to me it's not that expensive in comparison to the shampoo at Wal Mart. I also didn't want to get a shampoo that tested on animals, because my old one didn't. I kind of feel sad that I won't be able to use my old shampoo once it's all gone. They have it on some websites, but it's too expensive to buy one of the last bottles of it. It just makes me sad because I've used it for so long and my hair's been so nice these past eight years.

Not much else has been going on. I went to work last night and it was okay. The managers and the people who worked there didn't say anything. I really want to find another job though. I really want to work somewhere that isn't moving and that has more flexible hours.

I wondered if anyone out there has ever considered becoming an ehtical consumer. I know I've been thinking about it lately because supporting animal testing and other unethical things makes me feel bad. I read about the stuff that companies have done and it makes me feel like I'm promoting those actions by buying their products. I just wondered if anyone else has ever wondered that, because I asked my Dad and he said that he hadn't thought of it because he felt that most companies were corrupt and it is to be expected today. On that note, I bought the new book Chew On This, it's about the fast food industry and the soda industry as well. I'm going to start reading it either tonight or tomorrow when I get home from work.

I went over to Carbon's for the Forth of July and I was going to eat over there, but I wanted to go home and get things done. I really didn't pay attention to the fireworks though, they just don't intrest me like they did when I was a kid. Ginger is so afraid of them that she was peeing and hiding all over the house the whole night and some of the nights before that. Blake is afraid of the flag and the fireworks scared him, too. He nearly got hit when he ran out into the road, it scared me pretty badly.

Not much else is going on. I keep seeing those VW Rabbit commercials and all I can think of is my Dad's Rabbit. I wish he would just buy a new Rabbit TDI instead, I don't think his old one is worth all the waiting and work that has to be done to it. I'd rather see him in a new car that has no problems and when it has problems, he can take it to Smitty and have them fix it, instead of to Grundy who is full of shit. I also want to learn to drive a stick shift and I've been waiting for three years now. Yet, my Dad wants a Jetta now because he likes mine so much and he thinks the size of it is more practical for him. I would rather he get a Rabbit because they're cheaper and we're not a big family or anything and I know he would probably want to keep his truck. He'd probably be able to, too, if he weren't so stubborn and just got a new Rabbit instead of waiting for his old one.

I'm going to go read now and I'll write when I can. Good night.
*Racecar*

<< Thursday, Jul. 06, 2006@11:12 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew