I think I'm still a Toys R Us kid

Is anybody else upset by how TV Guide changed? I know that seems pretty stupid, but it bothers me that now it is just another rag mag like Star. I'm starting to not like any magazines, it seems like they all just go to the lowest common denominator. I'm also tired of MTV always showing these pampered girls who have Mommy and Daddy footing the bill all the time. I would kill to live like that in a way, but everyone would think I'm some lazy bitch. I feel like I really haven't gotten much for myself since I didn't buy my own car and my Grandma loves to give me money for stuff. I kind of feel spoiled myself sometimes, not nearly as bad as the girls on MTV, but I still don't feel very independent, either. I honestly should start paying for my car insurance at least, but I probably won't start until after spring when my car is fixed and my taxes are paid, because I know that the car being fixed will probably cost around $800, with a new door and new shocks (I also think the rotors have to be replaced and the parts have to be authentic VW parts, so it's not cheap). I might even have to take it to the dealer to do some of the stuff for it, or at least buy parts and that's also not cheap.

I don't know why, but I don't feel like writing tonight. I'm really bothered by the fact that the Toys R Us around here is pretty nasty now, when it used to be so cool and it was all toys. Does anyone live in an area with a nice Toys R Us, or any toy store for that matter? I still love toys even though I'm an adult and the Toys R Us near Rhode Island Mall was my favorite one, too because the aisles were wide and they had the coolest toys that I always wanted. It seemed like every kid's dream when I was young. Yet I went in there today and it's not like that at all anymore. It's messy looking, dimly lit and they have clothes now, too. I'm thinking of going up to the one near Emerald Square Mall next week especially since Emerald Square Mall was my favorite mall growing up becuase of the name (I really like emeralds, much more than diamonds). It was also the biggest mall nearby until Providence Place came around. It makes me sad how all the toy stores are dying. The last one I went to that really impressed me was FAO Shwartz (I probably spelled that wrong, but I only went there once!) in NYC and that was last year. I really miss the toy stores of when I was young, it seems like everything is going to heck these days, it makes me sad.

I would love to live in NYC someday, I don't know if that's possible though, because I would not want to do it alone. I want to make a nice friend someday who I can move to NYC with. I know it's expensive, but there is something about it that seems to make it better than other cities. The only other city I like as much is Boston, which is really a better city in terms of sports and such, but it doesn't seem to have as many things as New York City does. I've been to both, though I've never spent the kind of time in NYC that I have in Boston and I know it's kind of scary to live in a city, but it is honestly one of my dreams. That's why I wanted to go to college there, because I don't know if I'll ever get to live there on my own in an apartment. I'm going to get ready for bed now, I'm going to look at getting a new desk for my room tomorrow, just to see how much it costs because mine is about twenty five years old, and being made of wood, it is incredibly brittle. I can't even open the drawers anymore and one of them broke last year, I'm sure the other is not far behind.

I'm going to go to bed now, I'm really tired. Good night.
*Racecar*

<< Thursday, Jan. 05, 2006@10:31 p.m.>>

Navigation


current
archives
profile
mail
notes
Photo Bucket Album
unique design
d*land


Facts


My name is Racecar, and I'm a music composition major at URI. I'm a senior this year and so I'm getting ready to both finish college and head out into the real world. Join me on my adventure, won't you?

Plugs


c-major
onthe1ns1de
beesbitmyass
velvetdrop
fan4
animegrrl
rs-forever
cloudy-night
sunflowerowl
bemysmile
skeletonjack
theswordsman
kissmemister
musicman6724
abetterme33
nextdoortome
decemberguy
suckasspoems
squareone
unclebob
dubyah
andrew